We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Breakfast Burritos!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taos Diner

Taos Diner
Ranked #17 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Huge Breakfast Burritos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We probably could have shared one, but what the heck?! We got the special, and it was delicious. Service was great! The place certainly isn't fancy, but the food is amazing.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teressaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    97
    22
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Large portions but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Food was tasty and portions quite large. Seemed to be on the expensive side.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank bills_pix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

This place is a dive in the truest sense. The furnishings are literally the worst, but the food and service was great! Prices are kind of high for such a shabby atmosphere, but really good burger and onion rings. I'll go back next time for breakfast. It looked really good too.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Something that should be featured in Diners, Drive in's and Dives, I think. The staff was friendly, the place is bustling and the portions are generous and food delicious.

Be warned though, there is kind of too much food for breakfast though...maybe you are into giant size portions but neither my husband nor I were able to finish our meals. And I eat a lot normally. I always think this but this is one place that can use a smaller size option. That all said, I believe they let you share without an extra fee. So if there are two of you, just share one order. Also, be warned, their red sauce is spicy...like really spicy...the green sauce is delicious though!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnandalyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great low key place with good solid food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Taos Diner has 2 locations. The north side location is where we go most mornings for breakfast when we are in town. We love it here! Great food, very low key and not touristy in the least.

Yesterday we decided to try the Southside location for dinner. We weren't too sure about this but we entered as decided to give it a try. The place was very clean and bright and the service was very good. They serve breakfast all day. My partner ordered California benedict (his favorite) and I splurged and had homemade fried chicken with the works! The waitress recommended the chicken and she was right on!

We go to the more high-end restaurants but we got just as good of food for a reasonable price. It wasn't busy either which was nice because during the summer restaurants are very busy with the tourists.
We go back there again for lunch or dinner. The burgers and fries looked really good too!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cofjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Diner also viewed

 

Been to Taos Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing