We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were delighted everyday!”

Doc Martin's Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 127 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Grill, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bent Street
Description: Doc Martin's Restaurant is an acclaimed dining establishment located in a registered historic landmark. A Taos tradition for locals and visitors alike, the warm ambiance of Doc's has been a gathering place since the 1920s and 30s. Our menu is a presentation of New American and Northern New Mexican cuisine, specializing in fresh organic foods from the Southwest. Known for its incredible value and vast selections from old to new world, our wine list has earned Wine Spectator's "Best Of" Award of Excellence for twenty-nine consecutive years.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We were delighted everyday!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had their appetizers everyday along with dinner several nights.
Particularly loved their grilled pear salad, the red chili dusted scallops and their nachos alone could be a full meal. The dinners were also perfect. You must try their chili rellanos. We loved the trout with cornbread pudding and the lamb chops were also perfect! Oh, don't miss the baguette with roasted garlic and goat cheese...didn't try any desserts (my downfall) but they all looked incredible...honestly if you stay here, you won't have to leave to find incredible food!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bodie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    290
    133
    71
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best margarita --fresh and on the rocks”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am not much of a drinker, but decided to try a Margarita---a Baby Buddha---to be exact. When the lady asked, "on the rocks?", I said, "sure". Excellent drink. It had a fresh clean taste and was substanial. I let my husband have a taste and he concurred. My husband had a Jack Daniels on the rocks--his usual cocktail. We each ordered the special for the evening---pan seared pork loin with pumpkin mashed potatoes and mixed veggies. Everything was really good. Our total bill including tax and before the tip was $65.96. We were very pleased with our dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tumblentumbleweeds58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good choice for a special occasion”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had dinner here to celebrate my wife's birthday. We enjoyed the quiet, the nice atmosphere and attentive service, which can be a hard combination to find in Taos. Some would say the menu is a little pricey and I would agree. However, our dinners were very good and their wine list is impressive. Good choice if you want something a tad nicer than the usual Taos dining scene.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
262 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food, historic atmosphere”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

While in Taos, I ate at Doc Martins. It is located in the historic Taos Inn. Good service and food. A great place to eat in a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weird (and not in a good way)”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ate here with two young children early on a Thursday night. We asked to sit outside and were seated near the koi pond and vegetable garden in the back which was nice. However, our waitress was just out of it. She introduced herself by saying, "ok well you're here. Do you want to hear the specials? " In a tone that indicated she did not want to tell us the specials or want us there at all. The food was fine but the service was so uncomfortable that it was hard to enjoy. A table near us was having problems with the waitress as well. She threw the check down before we were done eating and when she saw my face said that she could add dessert if we wanted. We just left.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malaykah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Martin's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Doc Martin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing