We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Taos Dining At Its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lambert's of Taos

Lambert's of Taos
Ranked #6 of 121 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $60
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lambert's in Taos, New Mexico strives to be a sanctuary for guests to enjoy delicious food, wine, and cocktails.
South Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Taos Dining At Its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Taos lacks the quantity and quality of choices of restaurants that Santa Fe boasts, but Lambert's, on Bent Street is definitely a true contender. The cozy, southwestern minimalist interior is comfortable and fitting for northern New Mexico. The wait staff were professional and on point and made us feel as though we were old friends. The food was exceptional and artfully presented. We started with the toasted almond baked brie (excellent). For entrees, I had the mango chutney enchiladas (spicy and delicious) and my fiance had the filet mignon (she declared it outstanding). For dessert, she had the ice cream sundae (amazing) and I had the coconut cake (ditto). There are some very good restaurants in Taos, but if I were you, I would put Lambert's at the top my list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    131
    50
    32
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
420 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Stopped in for a Drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

And to check out the dinner menu as a possibility for that evening. They barely passed my margarita test and the house wine for happy hour was certainly nothing special. Nice small lounge area off the bar with some comfortable seating. The restaurant dining area on the main level was attractive. We just didn't find anything on the dinner menu that intrigued us for that night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner and quiet ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lambert's service, menu, wines and atmosphere were all top notch for us. We had wild mushroom risotto(superb) and banana wrapped tamales with black beans, calabacita and a red chile sauce and cojita, with corn/greens/carrots medley, also wonderful. Extensive selection of wines by the glass was also a real pleaser, allowing us to match without having too much! Loved this restaurant. Probably the most memorable of the several evenings of dining on out NM trip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 9directions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegant and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

During a ski trip we decided to try Lamberts. The dining room is nice an quiet, with elegant touches. The menu is small but has sime some excellent and creative options. The fusion style tamale was excellent, and the wine list had a good selection of both domestic and international selections.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good for people with gluten sensitivity...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We love all sorts of restaurants and cuisines. Earlier in the day, we had gone to a wine tasting shop, and the woman doing the tastings recommended Lambert's. We walked down to check it out and made a reservation with the very nice hostess to come back later for dinner. When we arrived we were seated at a nice corner table, and…waited and waited and then waited some more for service. It was not terribly busy. Finally our server came over, yawning, telling us how tired she was, (7:45) and apologizing for the wait. Ok, whatever, we're on vacation. The items on the menu looked good, but there was no indication of what might be ok for someone with a gluten sensitivity, and when the waitress was queried, she had absolutely no clue!! Even things that are normally safe; "I don't know", and would have to go ask the chef. No attempt to say they could alter a recipe or leave croutons off or whatever. Every high end restaurant from Albuquerque to Napa to NYC to Chicago to Miami usually prides itself on being able to adjust at least some menu items to dietary needs. Not Lamberts! Really surprised after reading all of the good reviews it has gotten, maybe the server was just having a bad day, but I don't think we'll be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank perchlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lambert's of Taos also viewed

 

Been to Lambert's of Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing