We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza in Taos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taos Pizza Out Back

Taos Pizza Out Back
Ranked #27 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Cajun & Creole, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenlawn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizza in Taos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

A great variety of well made pizza by the slice or various pie sizes. Slices are huge and a great value. Add to it lots of great brews at reasonable prices and you've got a right on food experience in Taos!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MCMark549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    119
    35
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always our First Meal in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Absolutely our favorite place to go on our trips to Taos. We always have to go 2-3 times during our week there. Fun, value, good food and people watching.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fibertwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I'm good with quirky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

In a recent pass through of Taos, we again chose to grab a 'slice' (they are huge, somehow the conception of 'slice' seems minimizing) at Pizza Outback. Our family has enjoyed stopping here every time we visit the area, as the variety of pizza variations, beer options, and outstanding salad dressing are always well appreciated. Might it be a tricky place to park? Sure. Could some serving staff be less attentive than you'd prefer? Depends on the year. But I also tend to enjoy the serving staff, who frequently are unique folks with intermittent doses of out-there styling...but for me this flows well with the artistic beauty of life - both manmade and natural - in this part of New Mexico. While the vibe might be 'younger' (such notions are relative), I'm getting pretty geriatric in age and still well enjoy it. We always bring containers (Gatorade bottles work well...) to buy some of the salad dressing to take home with us (which is 700 miles away...yep, keep ice in the cooler). I'll look forward to going back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shombol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
268 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“We planned our trip to include dinner here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We love this place! We ate here about 4 years ago and loved it. Went back last summer with friends (there were 6 adults and 6 kids) and loved it again. They have a great beer selection and patio area. I had 1 or 2 beers, a slice of pizza (which I could not finish-it was huge) and split a large salad with my husband. The only complaint I have is that the"'large" salad wasn't really that large (especially for the price). This year we went back for a weekend trip and we ordered a 12" "Southwest" and it was delicious. We ordered it to go and took it back to our hotel room. It was done in 20 minutes. My husband and I had leftovers for the drive home the next day too. Their pesto is really good, and so is their pesto salad dressing. I think 20$ is a steal for a tasty pizza with fresh and interesting ingredients. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tumbleweed_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questa, New Mexico, United States
1 review
“The worst service I have ever experienced!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I will never go back. Waited 20 minutes to get something to drink and had to flag down a waiter to do that, should have left the place then. Was with a party of ten half the table was served 30 minutes later the rest of the table watch as they ate. After that had to pretty much beg to get the other half of the tables food served to them. 1 hour later after plenty of begging finally got the food for the rest of the group. Some of the meals were incomplete missing bread for the pasta dishes and were promised that it would be provided shortly,never showed up. Salads came 20 minutes after main course was finished total dissatisfaction. Chef Ramsey should go and straighten up that place. Until then don't waist your time going there,go to Pisano's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sroyh1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Pizza Out Back also viewed

 

Been to Taos Pizza Out Back? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing