We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some amazing views”

Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Some amazing views”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you take the low road from Abiquiu orvSanta Fe to Taos, there is some breathtaking scenery. Be sure to stop at the visitor center outside of Taos on 68 for great info and tips from the staff there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank theodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    108
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A rare glimpse of water in the high desert”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We took the high road to Taos and the low road (Route 68) back to Santa Fe. It's awesome, especially after first visiting the Rio Grande Gorge at the top, near Taos. You follow the sparkling river back to Santa Fe on the low road, and it truly is the "low road." The mountains are in the near distance. It's easier to drive and much faster. You can make a stop at the Rio Grande Gorge Park and even go rafting if you like. It only takes an hour or so to get back to Santa Fe, but in my opinion, should only be used one way. The debate rages on whether it's better to take high road to Taos and low road back or vice versa..if you have the luxury of time and can make two trips, do both!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank wavypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Easy drive & great views”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Many beautiful views & loved driving along the Rio Grande for such a distance! Compared to the twisty High Road we took to get to Taos, this was much easier!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible Drive and Day”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We first experienced this road on our trip into Taos. Later in our visit we drove this way to Santa Fe. Beautiful stops along the way for pictures. I wish we could have spent some time along the parks on the river.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Road along the Rio Grande River”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The low road runs along the Rio Grande River and has many beautiful vistas. Like the high road this route is probably best taken during daylight hours. The roadway itself is rough and could be in a better state of repair. This is the fastest route from Sante Fe to Taos.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soybeangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Low Road From Taos and Santa Fe also viewed

 

Been to The Low Road From Taos and Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing