We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the view”

Ranked #7 of 100 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Worth the view”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We took this route in October and the colors were beautiful. The viewsa along the Rio Grande were wonderful and as we climbed - the view of the Rio Grande gorge was amazing. It is definitely worth taking the Low Road one way (I recommend taking it to Taos) and the High Road back to Santa Fe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    105
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive, scenic highway”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I took the low road along the Rio Grande and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. There is a wonderful visitors center along the way which provides a lot of information, maps and pamphlets.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive along the Rio Grande River”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We drove the low road first on the way to Taos. The trees were colorful. The road hugs the Rio Grande River. Stop off at the visitor center for more info on the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice scenic drive”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We took the Low Road from Albuquerque to Taos. It was a nice scenic drive in Oct with the fall foliage along the river. Do stop by Rio Grande Gorge Visitors Center for useful tour information and advices. We were very grateful to the lady volunteer, Marilyn, who was very welcoming and helpful.
We took the High Road back to Albuquerque. In my personal view, if it is a single trip, the high road is a better choice for it's beautiful countryside scenery. when you are on the High Road, Be sure to visit Santuario de Chimayo, a national historic landmark.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hong2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was a beautiful drive...especially in the fall...the colors were just coming on and it was spectacular!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PKN428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Low Road From Taos and Santa Fe also viewed

 

Been to The Low Road From Taos and Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing