We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grrrrreeeeeeat!”
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Grrrrreeeeeeat!”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Wow! This hotel was definitely an oasis after a very long drive. From the moment we entered we were greeted by Steve the valet -who should get a "valet of the year" award for his cheeriness and willingness to help- we immediately knew we were in a hotel that prided itself on an excellent experience. Our one disappointment was Joseph at the front desk who I'm thinking was having a bad attitude day and wasn't particularly helpful fortunately however we were mesmerized by our surroundings he didn't spoil it for us and everyone else in that hotel was over the top friendly, smiling and helpful. Our rooms were GORGEOUS! The room decor was stunning. It certainly wasn't the a generic run-of-the-mill decor. We had 3 rooms and each rooms details were different yet just as beautiful as the other. There was a refrigerator in the room as well as a coffee maker with Wolfgang Puck brand coffee (another nice detail). As per other reviews, the room was a bit dark and could have benefitted from another floor lamp, overall though the room was cozy, comfy, the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was large and beautiful, the grounds were serene and everyone was bummed when we had to leave. The hotel is a little off the main street which made it all the more peaceful but was a short walk to restaurants, shops and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dahlia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    264
    138
    79
    50
See reviews for
271
611
46
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Our room was gorgeous and comfortable. The staff at check-in were outstanding and helpful. The conceirge was awesome and pointed us in the right direction for dinner and sights. We will definately come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fun2travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Very familiar with the Taos area and this is the nicest hotel. Room check in time 4:00 is a big deal for my party and they would not accommodate earlier check ins. Catering service was sub par. Rooms very clean, atmosphere and setting very nice. Parking is difficult but Valet attendants accommodating and friendly. The front desk and Room service sometimes didn't answer the phone.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JayhawkerWildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Everything about our stay was top rate. Room was sparkling clean, comfortable, luxury linens, robes, towels. Nice balcony with view of mountains & landscaped grounds. The restaurant was very nice, delicious food and great service. Nice wine list. Variety of options on where to dine: patio, dining room or indoor garden room. The staff was polite, professional & the concierge was especially helpful in giving us directions. Wish we had stayed longer. Did not have a chance to use the spa, but it looked wonderful. Beautiful property.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtghumane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Spent two days recently in this peaceful oasis in Taos. We arrived and found our casita out of service so the bellman immediately took us to an upgrade in a native American suite. It was extremely peaceful with sacred waters outside the room. The whole hotel had a peaceful, Zen like feel to it. Staff was very friendly. Restaurant and bar were attractive. The upstairs balcony contained 2 computers for guests to us. Beware the bellman and valet are the same people in the summer. So park your own car in the nearby lot and save yourself some time. The spouse said the spa was very nice. This was the best part of Taos. The city itself did not look like much.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkroon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Unique and thoughtful architecture, stunning landscape, good service, superb rooms, nice restaurants and bar,, very nice fitness center with all Precor machines and free weights. This hotel is truly a luxury boutique hotel and a surprise find in Taos. Atttention to detail in the design and construction of this property is evident everywhere. Check-In was a little problematic as our keys didn't work and we were assigned to another room (Premier Suite - Tibet), but the room was fabulous. Very large, well appointed, large bathroom with Kohler fixtures, very comfortable bed, probably the quietest hotel we remember visiting. Food in the casual dining room was good at breakfast, dinner in the formal dining room was good, wine list is literally over the top, though. Multiple vintages of all five first growths. That's nice, but more selection in the $50 to $150 range would have been appreciated. Only true shortcoming here is lack of attention to housekeeping/cleanliness and some evident aging/deferred maintenance. Hope this isn't a sign of things to come, because this is a truly wonderful property.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahnattan48
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We were very surprised to have to listen to the people in the next room who were not being noisy and or blasting TV, but the soundproofing was awful. We were offered another room but didn't feel like moving and fortunately the problem only lasted a little while and not late at night. This property has the look and feel of a high end place ad otherwise we were satisfied, but how unacceptable that they did not sound-proof the rooms. It's a little far from the town center, which was okay with us and should have insured a quiet location, but for this. We only stayed one night and did not avail ourselves of any services or breakfast so cannot speak to anything else. There are not really other four-star properties so I can only imagine what the other options would have been like.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manhattan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
621 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Property: El Monte Sagrado
Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing