We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but be tolerant”
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Very familiar with the Taos area and this is the nicest hotel. Room check in time 4:00 is a big deal for my party and they would not accommodate earlier check ins. Catering service was sub par. Rooms very clean, atmosphere and setting very nice. Parking is difficult but Valet attendants accommodating and friendly. The front desk and Room service sometimes didn't answer the phone.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank JayhawkerWildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

Everything about our stay was top rate. Room was sparkling clean, comfortable, luxury linens, robes, towels. Nice balcony with view of mountains & landscaped grounds. The restaurant was very nice, delicious food and great service. Nice wine list. Variety of options on where to dine: patio, dining room or indoor garden room. The staff was polite, professional & the concierge was especially helpful in giving us directions. Wish we had stayed longer. Did not have a chance to use the spa, but it looked wonderful. Beautiful property.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtghumane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Spent two days recently in this peaceful oasis in Taos. We arrived and found our casita out of service so the bellman immediately took us to an upgrade in a native American suite. It was extremely peaceful with sacred waters outside the room. The whole hotel had a peaceful, Zen like feel to it. Staff was very friendly. Restaurant and bar were attractive. The upstairs balcony contained 2 computers for guests to us. Beware the bellman and valet are the same people in the summer. So park your own car in the nearby lot and save yourself some time. The spouse said the spa was very nice. This was the best part of Taos. The city itself did not look like much.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkroon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Unique and thoughtful architecture, stunning landscape, good service, superb rooms, nice restaurants and bar,, very nice fitness center with all Precor machines and free weights. This hotel is truly a luxury boutique hotel and a surprise find in Taos. Atttention to detail in the design and construction of this property is evident everywhere. Check-In was a little problematic as our keys didn't work and we were assigned to another room (Premier Suite - Tibet), but the room was fabulous. Very large, well appointed, large bathroom with Kohler fixtures, very comfortable bed, probably the quietest hotel we remember visiting. Food in the casual dining room was good at breakfast, dinner in the formal dining room was good, wine list is literally over the top, though. Multiple vintages of all five first growths. That's nice, but more selection in the $50 to $150 range would have been appreciated. Only true shortcoming here is lack of attention to housekeeping/cleanliness and some evident aging/deferred maintenance. Hope this isn't a sign of things to come, because this is a truly wonderful property.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We were very surprised to have to listen to the people in the next room who were not being noisy and or blasting TV, but the soundproofing was awful. We were offered another room but didn't feel like moving and fortunately the problem only lasted a little while and not late at night. This property has the look and feel of a high end place ad otherwise we were satisfied, but how unacceptable that they did not sound-proof the rooms. It's a little far from the town center, which was okay with us and should have insured a quiet location, but for this. We only stayed one night and did not avail ourselves of any services or breakfast so cannot speak to anything else. There are not really other four-star properties so I can only imagine what the other options would have been like.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manhattan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Better lucky than smart. When I was dong a search for places to stay in Taos I somewhow ended up selecting the El Monte Sagrado and what good fortune that was. This is a very tranquil and beautiful setting with great rooms and only a short walk from downtown Taos. I dare say the grounds and backdrop remind me of some beautiful hotels in Jackson, Santa Barbara, and Phoenix at about half the price. Enough said.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Although the grounds of El Monte Sagrado are serene and lovely, the rooms are quite dim. When I expressed my concern to the concierge about the lighting, especially in the bathroom, she just shrugged. They also ran out of coffee packs for the room and wouldn't get a new supply in until the next day. In addition, for an upscale hotel I was surprised that they did not have actual coffee cups, but only provided paper cups in the room for their guests. Otherwise, it is a lovely setting and very quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottiep042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
104 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
663 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $200 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing