We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveler rating
776
302
158
93
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
776
302
158
93
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet staff native american suites global suite free shuttle self parking beautiful resort water features spa services de la shuttle service per day taos mountain room indoor pool soaking tub gas fireplace new mexico santa fe
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Second time that I've stayed here - and it's a wonderful place. Easy walk to downtown Taos. Wonderful restaurant. Lovely property. Great spa services - between us with had a facial, pedicure and massage. Balcony delightful in the mountain room; but could use more internal lighting as quite dark at night. The only down side to our stay was the bar; we went there two nights - and service was rude - unlike the impeccable service everywhere else on the property.

Room tip: Suites are roomy and have nice natural light
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CaliforniaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelseyharney, Social Media Coordinator at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here. We're thrilled that it was just as wonderful as your first time with us. We do appreciate your feedback about the lighting and bar service and will definitely utilize it to improve our property. We hope to welcome you back in again soon.

Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at El Monte Sagrado for a babymoon weekend getaway and we couldn’t have had a better time! The hotel is absolutely stunning!! We kept calling it “the compound” because it had everything we needed and even on the first night, we’d planned to go out but ended up dining in the hotel and relaxing at the bar with the live music. The rooms are beautiful and elegantly decorated and ours had a fireplace too. We had wonderful massages at the relaxing living spa at the hotel. The staff was so nice and accommodating. In particular, Ann was able to get us a last minute reservation at the Love Apple which was delicious for dinner. Hunter helped us choose which restaurant to visit in the hotel and answered all the questions we had about the area. Ann and Kent both recommended La Cueva for lunch, which was a delicious local New Mexican food restaurant and we couldn’t have been more pleased with the suggestion. There is also a convenient free shuttle that takes you anywhere within a 3 mile radius, although the main plaza is also walkable. Overall, highly recommend this hotel and can’t wait to go back!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chrissyh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelseyharney, Social Media Coordinator at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Chrissy,

We're so happy that you chose to stay with us for your weekend getaway and some well-deserved relaxation. It sounds like you and your husband were able to enjoy some of the amazing amenities we offer here. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and are always happy to give our guests recommendations on our favorites around town. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We can't wait to welcome you in for another stay soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at The El Monte Sagrado in late October and early November. We stayed in one of the Casita's (two beds, 1 bath, table with chairs, small area with sink/water/coffee, and a safe) with front and back decks. We LOVED our Casita with the authentic painting on the walls. The shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc.. smelled wonderful. The property was quiet, and we did not hear any other guests. (I can only speak for the Casitas). Our service was OUTSTANDING! My girlfriends and I were on a trip of a lifetime (we had not seen each other for 20 years) We want to recognize the exceptional service provided by DAWN (she was a wealth of knowledge about the area, made many dinner reservations for us, helped us with so many questions, and assisted us with specialized amenities we were looking for as well). She also wanted to make sure the room was exactly what we wanted as we had a choice of a regular room or the Casita. We chose the Casita as originally booked, and it was wonderful! The grounds of this property are SO beautiful, I cannot stress enough how lovely this property is. We ate breakfast at the hotel every day and it was quite good, large portions too for those who are really hungry. We also had services at the spa twice. It was HEAVENLY! All of us (3 of us) had wonderful massages, we also ordered ad ons, and everything was wonderful. Other women we met in there too all felt the same, two of them said they come every year, just for the spa! I am sorry I did not save their names, but we had 5 different therapists and they were all great! Additionally, the hotel offers a shuttle service (limited area but it's where you want to go) that we utilized several times. I want to recognize EVERETT (valet driver). He too was exceptional. One night there was a patron riding with us who had a little to much to drink who was being a little confrontational as I had to change seats as I was not feeling well and it set her off. Everett handled it like a real pro (that he indeed is) and got her calm enough to get us back to the hotel without further incident. The woman's husband even apologized to Everett and told him that he too thought he handled the situation like a real pro. Other staff kudo's go out to SOPHIA in the dining room, she was very helpful to my friend as well with great recommendations for food and for checking on food allergies, etc... as well. We LOVED our stay and would definitely stay again (and will!) We waited far to long to see each other, that we will need to do this more often moving forward. Thank you El Monte Sagrado for a memorable stay! We'll be back!!

Room tip: I highly recommend the Casitas if you want a quieter, more personalized stay
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank pattiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelseyharney, Social Media Coordinator at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi,

We're thrilled that you and your girlfriends had such a fabulous time with us and enjoyed your Casita. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all of the amenities we provide here and were not disappointed by any. We'll definitely pass your compliments onto the entire staff -- it's fantastic that our team here was able to ensure that every aspect of your stay was memorable. Thank you so much for this thoughtful review. We can't wait to welcome you all back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

We were 21 people and booked four of the global suites. Had some issues with light bulbs and fire places, but overall it is a wonderful place to have a family gathering. The younger kids really enjoyed playing in the snow outside our rooms. Both younger and older kids had a blast in the pool area. Went skiing in Red River, shopped Taos and really enjoyed the Thanksgiving Buffet. Many thanks to all who tended to us throughout our stay.

Room tip: Best suite is the Texas and then Mexico, Spain and Argentina. Single room named Egypt is also nice.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelseyharney, Social Media Coordinator at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate you bringing the lightbulb and fire place issues to our attention so that we can get those fixed. It's amazing to hear that you all were able to experience some of the best parts of Taos. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2018

I had a great massage from Sarah at Living spa on Sat 12/8/18. I highly recommend her as a massage therapist. She is professional and experienced. A great way to end my vacation in New Mexico. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelseyharney, Social Media Coordinator at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Brad,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us! We will definitely pass on the kind words to Sarah. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in New Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews