We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, comfy accomodations, few little annoyances.”
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Superior, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, comfy accomodations, few little annoyances.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is a couple blocks off the main drag, but close enough to be very convenient. Quiet neighborhood. Parking is ridiculous though - $20 per night parking charge (they do have valet but we didn't utilize that.) However, our building was super convenient to parking lot and we had no complaints in that regard. We ate up near plaza and not at the hotel, so can't comment on dining. The pool is inside and rather small. Didn't use spa either. We were there 2 nights only and were out and about our one full day in Taos (hiking, site seeing).

You have to pay for Wifi - can't remember exact charge but I think it was in the $10 range for 24 hours.

But we loved our room. Huge tub between bathroom and main room. Large deck. Huge walk in shower with European glass door. The room had that combination Southwest/Rocky Mountain style (psuedo cowhide covered closet doors, antlers over mirror, etc.) but I've grown to love this style of decor since I'm from Colorado. The bed was comfy and we slept well since the building was so quiet.

Only a couple weird things. Bathroom has curtains separating tub from room and a curtain to separate bathroom entrance from main room.

Also, our neighbors smoked on the deck. This was very annoying and kept me from enjoying our deck in the evening. :(

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    262
    137
    79
    49
See reviews for
270
606
45
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were excited to visit Taos and stay at this resort, but the experience wasn't what we were hoping for. As many of the reviews have mentioned, the property is not maintained the way it should be. The gym is extremely outdated, as is much of the decor. Both of the tubs & sinks in our 2 bedroom suite did not drain, so we had to stand in water while we showered. The breakfast was delicious but the dinner was subpar and very overpriced. My wife got a pedicure at the spa and was charged $85 dollars for a quick foot rub and shoddy paint job. Our room had a beautiful patio and attached river, which was one part we really enjoyed. However, the air conditioner made SO much noise in both bedrooms, that we couldn't sleep unless we turned it off. Overall, the hotel was extremely overpriced for the facilities, quality of food, and service. Having to pay $20 a night for parking and $14 a night for wi-fi when you're already paying hundreds of dollars a night is not good customer service. We definitely would not return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your experience. These are the kind of comments we want to hear from you while you are here so we can work with you to make sure you don't leave unhappy. Our goal to ensure every guest leaves with positive memories and a desire to return. There are things we can do for you while you are here to make this happen if we are aware of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Strange check in area. Food and drinks were fantastic. Bed was comfy. The down side was there was a 4 inch gap under the door and we were put right by the entrance. All night (even with earplugs) we were woken up. Pool and grounds are worth the stay! A+

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariagP7907JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed the beauty this property has to offer. Take the time to wander around the walkways that connect the units and enjoy the landscape & artwork. Every staff member we encountered (waitstaff, concierge, front desk, valet parking attendents) were polite and extremely helpful. We have stayed at five of the Kessler properties and have not been disappointed. The one suggestion I would make, and only related to our suite (Osceola Suite) would be that it may be nearing time for an upgrade of some of the furniture. We have stayed in Taos on three occasions over the last 12 years and recommend El Monte Sagrado over the other two establishments we previously stayed.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are furnished based on a theme. I suggest you contact by phone to make a selectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldCityDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel over the 4th of July weekend. We were excited to try another Kessler property as we have enjoyed the ones in St. Augustine and Savannah. Unfortunately, it felt like we were treated like second class customers because we were using reward points for our stay. This was especially disappointing since other properties have acknowledged our Marriott loyalty (he is Platinum and I am Gold) and have given us upgrades. At the El Monte we seemed to be downgraded to what they acknowledged when I asked to be given another room was one of their smallest and it definitely had the smallest bed. Beware of the Caballo casita which has a bed that is smaller than a queen size. I have not seen a bed this small in a hotel for a very long time. On the bright side, the property itself is very unique and has some great features. It also has a great location which is walking distance to the town square. There were however some general maintenance issues at the property that included cobwebs around our porch light for the entire 3 days we were there, broken/missing tiles in some walkways, unkept lawn, weeds around our casita, plant matter covering the sidewalk in front of casita that had obviously been there for a while. In addition to this, the service of the hotel personnel both during the check-in process and in the restaurant made this property with great potential overall disappointing. Unfortunately, this is the only Marriott related property in Taos which likely means we will forego earning or using points and stay at an unaffiliated hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsWinenaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to improve our performance and property. Normally Platimum guests are upgraded and we are researching this to find out why this was not done. Our apologies for this oversight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel seemed very nice on our arrival. The reception was somewhat lacking in that you pass by several large conference areas and ballrooms to get to the reception area.

The grounds were nice.

We were in a mountain view room which really didn't show you much mountain at all. The room was worn and dark. Carpet needed replacing.

The hotel was supposedly non-smoking but we had smokers on all sides. We couldn't enjoy the outdoor balcony because of this. The front desk said they would "come over" but we requested that they not since the smokers were young rough looking folks and after hearing about the gangs in NM we decided it would be better to smell the smoke than deal with any blow back. It seems like the biker crowd was here for the weekend.

Won't be back to this hotel - they seemed to have lost control.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank not2woryluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We work continuously to update and upgrade our property and these projects are ongoing. We strictly enforce our no smoking policy and we do not have gang members or other unruly types staying here. Bad behavior is not tolerated and we do escort guests off the property if they fail to comply with our policies and proper decorum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My family and I stayed here for a week in February and used the property as home base for daily ski trips in the mountains up north. PROS: The place is beautiful and the rooms are tastefully done. The decor is awesome and the gas fireplace was thoroughly enjoyed in the dead of winter. Housekeeping is very accommodating with coffee, linens, etc. CONS: The front desk personnel were stoic, unfriendly and unwelcoming. The location is a bit out of the way from downtown area...walkable but a bit of a hike. We changed to the Taos Inn on our most recent trip and although it is a downgrade, it is way, way funner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks for your response. We use all feedback as training opportunities and appreciate your comments which point out areas for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
611 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
364 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Property: El Monte Sagrado
Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing