We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing first class hotel minus a few faux pas”
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I'll get the negatives out of the way first: Some of the bell staff were not the friendliest. You are charged 20.00 per day, if you park it, or they park it. I'm still aggravated at being charged 14.00 per night for the internet. The sign on the doors state the entrances are locked from 8pm to 6am, they were never locked during our stay.

Now on to the positive: Fantastic Views, great spa, great food, huge well appointed rooms, and water features. They spent a fortune on this place and it shows. I have been in comparable rooms at 400 plus per night, yet we were at 179.00 As a loyal Hilton Diamond, I made the decision to stay here after less than favorable reviews of the only Hilton Chain (Hampton) Hotel in the market. We stayed here for 50.00 more per night, and it was worth every dime.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard or water features are wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Wayfarer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
There are newer reviews for El Monte Sagrado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We loved our stay here and wished we'd spent more time in Taos. Our room was a suite overlooking the stream, room 13. That's right, there is a stream running through the property which generated the the sound of a creek flowing outside of our balcony. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They went out of there way to make our stay pleasant.

The location is a short walk to the plaza but being off the main road made for a peaceful nights sleep. I highly recommend the hotel and hope to return in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jkferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was a beautiful resort in a rustic setting. The room was amazing in size and decoration. We did not eat on the premises so I cannot speak to the food. We enjoyed the pool and exercise room. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank EB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our room was by far the most unique room we have ever had. It was our own little adobe villa with decor that matched the landscape. We only stayed one night but the hotel is gorgeous, centrally located to all the shops and restaurants and the staff is very friendly. We ate at the hotel and the food was delicious. The only thing I wish was better was the water in the shower could have been hotter and had better water pressure.

Room Tip: Make sure you get your own adobe villa vs. a hotel room. I think the hotel has both options.
Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MaryannG355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

After a weekend destination wedding for our daughter in Denver, where we stayed at a JW Marriott, we had ample Reward Points for a relaxing serene two day stay in Taos on our drive back home. We were looking forward to our stay at El Monte Sagrado. The grounds are lush and gorgeous and we anticipated a casita to match the ambiance. As loyal patrons of the Marriott system, we expected to be treated as such. Unfortunately, we were ushered to a casita at the remote end of the property. We checked in after 7:00 PM and there was an empty tray of food at the front gate of the casita. The casita itself, while supposedly in the New Mexico style, was very poorly lit, had a leaky pipe in the shower which leaked on to the floor and may have contributed to the dank odor we noticed. Not one to use the old school coverlets we substituted a blanket which had a few stains, nixed that and used robes as a blanket. The rug was frayed, the stove in the kitchenette had grease and we had to call the front desk to deliver a remote for the tv. We get and appreciate charming and rustic. That's what we expected but we didn't expect the sub standard conditions. Is this how they treat loyal customers?

We decided to leave after the first night. Upon voicing our disappointments, the friendly staff immediately offered another casita. The hotel was not full and had not been full and they unable to tell us why we were placed in that casita initially if there were available rooms that are of better quality. Very disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014
6  Thank Rsplatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

I apologize for your disappointment. We will certainly try to determine why the choice of Casita was made and discuss their disappointment with all of the departments involved. We appreciate your feedback and will endeavor to improve the quality of product we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I found El Monte on trip advisor. It has all the charm of Taos even though it is a new property. The grounds are beautiful with great views of the mountains. We got there planning on staying one night. After seeing the room we decided on the spur of the moment to stay a second night. They were able to accommodate us. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Loved the show with the rain head. It was close to the square and the hotel provides free shuttle service which is a real plus. Finding parking along the square is not easy. We really enjoyed the breakfast but the dinner's not so much. I had a Caesar salad and the lettuce had a lot of yellow cores. It may have been an off night or I ordered wrong. If in Taos eat breakfast at the hotel but one of the other restaurants for other meals. Good value for the price. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 days as a getaway. When we arrived the valet parking was backed up due to a wedding on the property. The property only has valet parking at a cost of $20/day. The valet was pleasant and we were escorted to check in, again, a wait due to the wedding. We were finally given a room at the end of the property away from the wedding that would be quiet. Our second floor room was spotless with lovely decor in tune with the area. There was a spacious balcony that overlooked mountains and beautiful trees. There was a nice size fridge in the room, spacious soaking tub & large shower. There was also a cozy fireplace in the corner. Our room was extremely quiet, never heard a sound! We enjoyed the restaurant on the property & the bar food servings in the lounge area are a meal in themselves. There are comp copies of the WSJ & USA Today in the lobby daily. We didn't use the pool, however did check out the billiards room. The decor, architecture & attention to detail of the property is truly beautiful. We found the staff to be very pleasant & helpful. We definitely would return if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
641 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $212 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing