We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We found this by accident and sadly only stayed one night. The room was fantastic, tub in the middle of the room! Great military rate, shuttle I was very happy staying here and would definitely come back and try some of the amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a great hotel in Taos. We really had a nice stay. The service was friendly, courteous and attentive. Our room #32 the Painted House was really amazing. It was a casita with an adobe style fireplace, excellent bed and nice furnishings. The bathroom was spacious and had lovely bathroom products, shampoos, etc. We also had a back sitting area.
The property is quite lovely too with wooded lots, winding paths and attention to details.

PROS:
Hotel is a great property
Rooms amazing
Bed Comfortable and room very quiet.
Great spa, gym and pool areas were all clean and working properly

CONS:
TV reception was limited, most stations were static
No mini bar in room or store to get a bottle of water, snack, etc.
The restaurant is simply terrible. We had breakfast there one day (and that was enough) and Christmas dinner which was not good. Christmas dinner was a prix-fixe menu $45/three course dinner. The service was non-existent so much so that when my me came out I wanted to return it because my steak was basically raw (I asked for medium). The waiter was nowhere to be found. I never was able to order more wine. Another waiter brought us water and took our dessert orders. I then had to literally get up and walk around to find our waiter to get the check. Our waiter never acknowledged any of this and/or asked how everything was. My meal if one can call it that, was sub-par and very upsetting for a big-Christmas celebration. Breakfast the next day was the same ordeal with regards to service. There was one other table occupied and we couldn't get anybody to come to our table with coffee. Breakfast for two was $53. I had coffee, juice and eggs/bacon as well as my partner. Breakfast shouldn't be that expensive I would avoid the restaurant. This area of the hotel needs major attention as it is well adrift from the standards being placed upon it from other areas of the hotel.
On a return to Taos I would stay at this lovely property; I just would stay very clear of eating ever again in the restaurant (especially with so many local-Taos options).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brklynrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is unique and a beautiful property. However several little things affected the stay. Upon check-in, the front desk stated the room was ready and gave me a key. After hauling my luggage up to the room, the maid was in the room and said it would take her another 40 minutes. We had to haul the luggage back down to the front desk ask waited for 45 minutes. No one from the front desk even checked on us, or asked if there was an issue. During the 45 minute wait, we also noticed several other hotel guests having issues. The hotel room was very nice EXCEPT for the tub/shower. You have to use a step to get up to get into the tub and then there is an over 2 foot step down into the tub. It was very difficult for my wife and I to get into and out of the tub, and dangerous. They need to warn guests of this, especially with children or older guests. Dinner at the restaurant was OK. Service was slow. The entrees were acceptable. The upside down apple pie was excellent. Worth going to the restaurant just for the pie. Breakfast at the restaurant was terrible. No buffet, just order from the menu. Both my wifes and my eggs and bacon were cold. And by the time we got our food, the coffee was cold. For Gold/Platinum members, be aware the breakfast coupon they give you is not valid for any hot breakfast item. Only a muffin. Even though I had the Platimum coupon, they even charge me $3.50 for a cup of coffee and another $3.50 for a cup of tea.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry for the issues you encountered. We are continuously working to make improvements in our property and service and appreciate this information. We only wish we had known about this at the time so we had the opportunity to fix things on the spot and ensure you left satisfied. We will strive to ensure your next visit meets your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just stayed a week at El Monte and the hotel was gorgeous and they have beautiful artwork. The staff was very informative and helpful so service was good. Our mountain room was nicely decorated and the big soaking tub and fireplace were appreciated after a day of skiing. We would have given them a 5 rating but no one mentioned to us that they charge $12.00 per day for parking regardless if you valet or self park. Hence that was a surprise on our bill at check out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLily2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Coloradobumpskier
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I've stayed at the El Monte a few times. The rooms are really comfortable and the staff is super friendly . Its a very relaxed low key retreat spot in Taos . They also have a great gym and restaurant. Great access to angel fire or Taos Mountain

Room Tip: request a room with a king , they're nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed just one night last Sunday (room 32) . The resort/hotel is nice surrounded by beautiful landscaping. Room is cozy, clean and neat. Love it. Will recommend to family and friends. Food is tasty and staff are so friendly, helpful. Don't forget to check out their galleries....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerUSA1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
14.9 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
16.4 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 14 in Taos
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $154 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing