We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property & Artwork!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property & Artwork!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just stayed a week at El Monte and the hotel was gorgeous and they have beautiful artwork. The staff was very informative and helpful so service was good. Our mountain room was nicely decorated and the big soaking tub and fireplace were appreciated after a day of skiing. We would have given them a 5 rating but no one mentioned to us that they charge $12.00 per day for parking regardless if you valet or self park. Hence that was a surprise on our bill at check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLily2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    246
    132
    77
    48
See reviews for
253
581
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I've stayed at the El Monte a few times. The rooms are really comfortable and the staff is super friendly . Its a very relaxed low key retreat spot in Taos . They also have a great gym and restaurant. Great access to angel fire or Taos Mountain

Room Tip: request a room with a king , they're nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed just one night last Sunday (room 32) . The resort/hotel is nice surrounded by beautiful landscaping. Room is cozy, clean and neat. Love it. Will recommend to family and friends. Food is tasty and staff are so friendly, helpful. Don't forget to check out their galleries....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerUSA1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The grounds were OK (albeit covered in snow, so perhaps they are nicer during the summer) and our Taos Mountain Room was nice enough, but a number of annoyances hurt what should have been a great stay. The hotel is noticeably understaffed. There should be more than one person serving tables in a restaurant and calls to the front desk should not go to voicemail. Stay away from the package deals. The so-called 'simply sweet' package was supposed to include a bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries upon arrival, along with breakfast each day. What we received - 1 hour after reminding the front desk that we had booked this package - were four small strawberries and a miniature bottle of champagne. The gas fireplace is a nice touch, but unusable because of a loud ticking noise that accompanies the timer that one must use to operate it. Finally, the night before checkout, the staff slid a bill under our door (nice hotels should not do this) that was obviously incorrect. Did they not think that we would notice that we were being charged for two breakfasts and an order of champagne and strawberries? Surely they hoped we wouldn't. All in all, Taos is very nice, but El Monte Sagrado could be better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FranciscoDanconia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we will work to improve the issues you commented on. Our grounds are quite lovely in the summer and fall but many people also appreciate the snow during this season. Many four and five star hotels provide the ability to view your bill on your TV but unfortunately we do not have that capability. Since it is a Marriott standard that we provide guests the opportunity to review their bill before checkout we place the bills under each guest’s door. We hope you provide us the opportunity to serve you better on your next visit to Taos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

My boyfriend reserved a room for us here for one night for my birthday and we wish we could have stayed longer! The front desk was very hospitable and there was never a dull moment, he was very good at keeping us engaged and he was very professional. Then we got to our room and we were very happy with it. The only downside is that the television was tricky. We turned it on and only got some channels. We left for dinner and then came back to find that the same channels we were watching before also now didn't work. We didn't report it during our stay because we weren't very interested in watching TV the whole time, but if we had stayed longer we probably would have called to have someone take a look at it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
14.9 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Property: El Monte Sagrado
Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing