We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bathrooms!”
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bathrooms!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I'm a sucker for clean, spacious bathrooms with huge bathtubs and sexy showers. The Sagrodo did it for me (and it's worth mentioning that I stayed in only a standard room). The hotel's grounds are beautiful - lots of natural landscaping, lush foliage, and small trickling waterfalls into ponds. The location was also great - only a couple blocks walk from the center plaza and several shops, restaurants, and galleries. My only negative comment is that this hotel charges for daily parking...I recommend taking an extra long shower or a nice deep soak in the tub to make up for it. ...Maybe also consider cranking the air conditioner and gassing up the fireplace for a nice, romantic evening in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWARnachos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    260
    136
    79
    49
See reviews for
269
602
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I went to Taos for a wedding at the hotel and just dont have enough good things to say about the property. The staff was wonderful, the setting georgous and the food (both at the restaurant and room service) was terrific. I'm not sure when I will be back in Taos but when I am I would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our first visit to Taos and this hotel was fabulous. From the parking attendants (offering water to us each time we left) to the attendants who checked us in, all provided exceptional service. I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. The grounds were amazing, a very zen-like experience with running water and gorgeous flora and fauna. And the spa....had a spectacular ninety minute massage. The receptionist at the spa as well as all the hotel staff we came in contact with bent over backwards to hep us. This is a hotel to visit in order to escape the hectic pace of the modern world and feel transposed back to another simpler time. We ate a meal in the bar and had fabulous service and food. Green Chili Mac & Cheese....If you want a spa-like environment in a great location, walking distance to town, stay here. The only thing that could have made it better would be outdoor seating areas to read or just relax in the lushly landscaped areas, since the pool was indoors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

For a resort we were dissapointed. I guess for Taos this is ok but for us it was not. Was it clean (somewhat see below) and comfortable yes. Was it quiet and tranquil - yes.

The good:
The restaurant had fabulous food for dinner. We almost didn't go because it was so vacant but we are glad we did - this was the best meal that we had in Taos (giving it a 5 star review under trip advisor De La Tierra).

The grounds are shaded and pretty.

The bad:
The resort is really shaded and greatkt lacks anywhere to relax and enjoy the grounds outside. There is no outdoor pool and no lounges to sit and read a book which forces you to stay in your room - really??? Management needs to for one put in a small pool and if not put in twenty random lounge chairs with small tables around the property.

The rooms are dark. Even with the windows shades open it is dark. Management needs to lift some foliage around the property and trim some trees. We wanted to sit on our terrace and enjoy a glass of wine it but it was too dark to enjoy the surroundings. We stayed in a suite. Before check in we also looked at a casita which was also dark and not that impressive. The Taos rooms looked like they got more sun but were in a more run down area of the resort.

The terrace is not clean. It looked as though our terrace had not been cleaned for a month. This is obvious an area of neglect. Was the room clean - yes but not the terrace. The pads on the outdoor chairs were filthy I had to put a towel over the chairs to sit in them. There was dust/pollen/dirt/bugs/leaves and other debris all over the terrace. We called two times two hours in advance of needing the terrace for it to be cleaned. We were told we will be right up - twice. My husband had to go downstairs finally to ask for a broom to do it ourselves and we were asked "is it really that dirty?" When they finally sent housekeeping they swept everything off the terrace (we were on the second floor and hoped there was noone below us - how unprofessional).

We stated on our reservation that this was an anniversary and nothing was said or done to welcome us there for our special occasion.

In summary it was not memorable in any way - and we would not go back nor recommend. We stayed in two other locations while in Toas and found them both better in all ways.

Stayed two nights here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2dine054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After driving over 800 miles in the region and being away from Northern NM for over 20 years, I decided to re-check Taos out. Wow! I was in a glowing trance when I checked in at El Monte Sagrado, and very grateful to Los Rios Runners for making my reservation at this Oasis above the Gorge. My casita, Painted Horse, was perfect: the well-appointed decor & firm bed, the private patio; the deep soaking tub, lighting, marble sink, Bose sound system, adobe fireplace, all amenities including a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon should I need it. And everything worked!
The spa was fantastic. Tim gave me the best deep tissue massage ever & likewise, Jill, the best facial. I spent an entire afternoon roaming around the facility to admire all genres of the High-End Kessler Art collection. Supreme! Also, the Bio-sustainability of the resort must be saluted given the water issues in the Southwest. Thank you for reviving this pilgrim!

Room Tip: The casitas appear to best for singles or couples; near the spa & close to the fitness room &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardellaSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
386 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We very much enjoyed the design and execution of the theme on the El Monte Sagrado property. Our room, with large soaking tub, was excellent in all respects. We will happily stay at the property again.
As a career senior Human Resources Executive in the resort industry, I couldn't help but notice a need for significant training in order to provide the highest level of guest service consistent with the relative cost of this resort experience.
Our on property dining experiences were overall excellent. Hopefully a slight billing/Marriott Points issue weill be satisfactorily resolved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gapcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Cannot say enough about how kind the staff has been while we have stayed here while we had to evacuate from our home in South Fork, Colorado due to wildfires! They allowed us an early check in after escaping from the fire and smoke, gave us an upgrade because I had family members visiting me. The property is walking distance to the Plaza and is tucked away out of sight and out of the hustle and bustle. Each casita has its on private little back garden for peace and relaxation. Artwork is for sale and beautiful. I'm looking forward to visiting the hotel's art gallery which is above the lobby. Staff from front desk, to valets, to housekeeping have been exemplary.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a beautiful suite. Each one is decorated differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Property: El Monte Sagrado
Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing