We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great room, amazing tub, and the porch with stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great room, amazing tub, and the porch with stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife does amazing research in preparation for trips and this was no different than any other. The most important things for us are friendly service, reasonably quiet rooms, a porch if possible and a tub to relax in at the end of the day. The El Monte offered all of this and more.

I would say the most impressive of the stay was the tub. A huge tub in the middle of the room with privacy curtains. It was ideal. On oddity is the faucet for the tub makes washing your hair a little challenging, but that's not what tubs are for...

The service was very friendly, a shuttle to anywhere in town was very handy and the layout of the grounds was also very nice. From our porch, we enjoyed a view of the stars on a clear, New Mexican night.

Room Tip: We were on the upper floor which may be better from a sound perspective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cord_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    239
    125
    73
    47
See reviews for
233
557
37
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Think of getting away for a night to a spacious, relaxing and well-appointed room with magical grounds to stroll and breath, El Monte Segrado is the place. The extraordinary architecture, the grounds and the views are creative and lovely in every direction, especially Taos Mountain, simply breathtaking. Not to mention the pool and spa (hot pool) surrounded by tropical plants and the sound of flowing water to sooth the spirit. Oh yes, and every employee that I spoke with was pleasant and calming, what an uplifting change. We highly recommend El Monte Segrado for a couple’s get away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Taos Mountain rooms, but other guests we spoke with were enjoying the unique cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiefromBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are pleased that you had a good time at El Monte Sagrado. Try one of our other five room types on your next visit. I would be happy to personally recommend one that best suits your desires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

If you are a light sleeper, then you will not enjoy the conversations from your neighbors next door (you will clearly understand everything they say!) because the walls are so thin. During waking hours, however, you will find the library, pool, and dining areas exquisite. The inclusion of expensive artwork all over the hotel was a real treat.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajtraicoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We have five different room types at El Monte Sagrado and we would be happy to help you select one that offers more peace and quiet on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A little pricey, but staff treated us well, had gorgeous room (standard) next to end of property by elk statue. Beautifully luxurious room, gas fireplace (really takes chill out of room so you don't have to mess with heat), spa bathtub, lovely high-end bath and room. Very quiet, walking distance to plaza and restaurants. Restaurant over-priced, just OK, would recommend eating in town, but they sure make a mean margarita in the beautiful bar (pricey but worth it). Beautiful property to walk around; lovely grounds, fabulous ballroom if checking out place (a must-see ballroom; great place to have a wedding, but I'm sure $$$). Well-appointed property, add-in cost ($12/night) for valet parking. Great place if you can get an off-season price. Would stay here again, but probably off-season...would be pricey during Taos ski season. Nice, very relaxing, memorable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces inner courtyard, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Summer is our busy season and we actually have some great rates during ski season if you can avoid holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This resort is about 20 miles from Taos ski valley. The rooms are beautiful with elegant gas fireplaces. It is within walking distance to Taos, but the hotel will shuttle you there and back. Indoor swimming and hot tub. Make sure you find the spa with a great steam and sauna. Pretty grounds with mountains surrounds. Great place for small meetings. Kit Carson museum house nearby. Cute bar and rest.Good food. Cute decks off rooms with ground floor rockers. A cute romantic getaway. A little windex for the doors. Have fun!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0311ItsaBeautifulDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautiful hotel, close to downtown, the food was not very good, not much choice.
Not a kid friendly hotel.
The room i take was one of the Taos mountain rooms, really nice, clean, spacious and the decoration was really nice.
I recommend this places for couples, or solo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

A beautiful retreat from hectic life! Began with a wonderful, helpful, and pleasant greeting from the very personable valet, who graciously showed us to the check-in. Check-in was smooth, comfortingly pleasant, and very welcoming. Our room (Caribbean Casita) was whimsically spacious and bright, with a gas fireplace and large bathroom -- perfect for a restful and relaxing weekend! The spa is exquisite -- therapists and treatments are fantastic. Scrumptious breakfast and dinner, although it appears that the restaurant is in a transition phase. Easy (less than half a mile) walk to the Plaza and other quaint shops and restaurants. Previous reviewers have shared that staff showed an "elitist" or "pompous" attitude towards guests, but our experience involved nothing like that -- the staff was friendly, courteous, pleasant, helpful, and in-the-background, ensuring all was well for guests while not being obvious. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Casitas are highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ES F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
14.9 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#1 of 1 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Property: El Monte Sagrado
Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing