We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice shops and trees to climb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taos Plaza

Taos Plaza
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Taos Highlights Small-Group Driving Tour
Ranked #8 of 92 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
washington, dc
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice shops and trees to climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

after the pueblo come here for your ice cream, rocky mountain fudge, fir climbing and antique shopping. easy to get a flavor of taos from the banjo players and kooky shop owners who inhabit the area

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank eveonleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    254
    184
    44
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place for an early morning stroll”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have visited the Taos Plaza many times; but I have never warmed up to it. It is a nice place for an early morning stroll. The Plaza is small and it surrounded by shops that cater to tourists. There are some small coffee shops where you can get a cup of coffee and a pastry and pass the time.


La Fonda Hotel is worth while visiting. It is small hotel; but it has a very attractive lobby. It houses a small galley, that usually showcases a well know local artist. Nambe has one of their best shops in New Mexico right on the plaza. You can walk to other points of interest from the Plaza.

Parking can be difficult. I always make a point to carry quarters in my pocket as all parking areas are metered, expect on the Plaza.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MMasumoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little Santa Fe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

TAOS Plaza is a great place to enjoy with unique boutiques and many fine shops. It is a great place to stroll and enjoy the southwestern culture and all it has to offer. The handiwork and wonderful talents of craftsmen, artists, potters and almost any other form of artistry imaginable can be seen and enjoyed in the square. Great restaurants and snack shops abound so you won't go hungry, either. Make the trip to Taos. You will enjoy every minute of it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank donna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
362 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Murals in the old courthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

On the north side of the Plaza shops, you can find the entrance to the old (county?) courthouse. In this old courthouse are WPA era murals (frescos, I think) by several different artists. They are rather somber and socialist. I didn't even know they were there until the visitor I was showing around noticed a sign for them. Admission is free, and the climb up the stairs is well worth it to see these pieces of 20th century history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
268 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Fun place to people watch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Taos plaza has a farmer's market on Saturdays during the summer, and it's a lot of fun to go and pick up fresh food of all kinds, plus people-watch. There are lots of galleries, clothing and book shops and a pub. I enjoyed the quilt store and my friend's kids LOVE the toy store "Twirl."

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tumbleweed_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Taos Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing