We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place to hang out and experience Taos”
Review of Taos Plaza

Taos Plaza
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Taos Historic Downtown Walking Tour
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Always a great place to hang out and experience Taos”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Lot's of great shops and restaurants on the Taos Plaza and Bent Street areas. The people watching is pretty good too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    265
    194
    48
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
589 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Cute Place!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Because I went on Wednesday and Thursday afternoons in January, I was able to park right on the Plaza itself.

I enjoyed walking around and looking at the various little shops. However, there seemed to be quite a contrast. Some of the shops featured unique jewelry pieces. Others were filled with cheap and tacky tourist junk. With one exception, I thought shop owners were appropriately friendly. They offered assistance but allowed me to browse without any pressure and thanked me for coming.

The Plaza also has the American flag that is flown 24/7 with no lighting, thanks to Kit Carson during the Civil War.

Be sure to bring quarters and monitor your time. At 4 or so in the afternoon when we were leaving with 18 minutes still on our meter, there was the local policeman checking the meters at the half-filled plaza.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreenUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic shops!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Love the little shops in and around the Plaza! Lots of unique items from the Southwest! Beautiful jewelry, clothing, Nambe, and art! Try out the Black Mesa Winery Tasting Room when you are tired from the shopping!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
474 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good shops; quaint atmosphere”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Arrive early and you might be able to park on the square. But bring plenty of quarters for the meters. Lots of interesting shops, and the prices aren't as bad as Santa Fe. More shops, galleries and restaurants just a few blocks off the square. Well worth the trip from Santa Fe.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No there there”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The little plaza itself is lovely. Most of the shops around it are way too touristy. With the exceptions of the Cowboy store, and the mountain outfitters. We didn't go in the La Fonda however.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Taos Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing