We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot touristy, A little History”
Review of Taos Plaza

Taos Plaza
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Taos Highlights Small-Group Driving Tour
Ranked #9 of 96 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A lot touristy, A little History”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife, 11 month old son and I visited the Taos Plaza during our visit in early September 2013. My wife and I have been many times before but not in a long time. Plazas are the focal point in most all Spanish influenced villages and Taos is no exception. The catch 22 with modern day plazas is that they have become overrun with tourism. They are a draw for tourists, and therefore have become ground zero with tourist based t-shirt shops. Unfortunately, the history is usually push out of the way.

Taos plaza does still recognize its history with a couple plaques and statues throughout the plaza. Look for them, read your history beforehand, and you will have a great appreciation for the town. If you need a New Mexico t-shirt though, be sure to stop by.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeindenver_303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    262
    188
    46
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice shops and friendly people”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

There are plenty of shops and galleries to look at. There are also a few places to eat that over look the plaza area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
299 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A disappointment after Santa Fe”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

It's okay, and it's not as though SF doesn't have it's fair share of boutiques etc. on the plaza, but somehow the Taos Plaza seemed soul-less -- and the shops and galleries were two cuts below those on the plaza and elsewhere in Santa Fe. Nice but.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank robin082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historic Plaza Enjoyable To Experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The stores on the Plaza are fairly touristy. We expected to find more of the fine art stores there. The latter are located on surrounding streets. We enjoyed walking around the Plaza and having ice cream at a great little store there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank happytravelertoo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful shopping/walking area”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Don't miss the Plaza for some neat shops and a relaxing time in Taos. Wonderful souvenirs and some high-end items. Twirl is a must-see for anyone, any age - go outside and upstairs of this most unusual toystore and playspace.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Taos Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing