We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take Your Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taos Plaza

Taos Plaza
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Taos Highlights Small-Group Driving Tour
Ranked #9 of 93 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Take Your Time”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lots of sights to see. Take your time because many of the stores have the same tourist junk. However, many stores with great art and other Southwest items. Weekends are always very busy, during the week is better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    256
    185
    45
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
omaha
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“little bit of everything”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

you can find a little bit of everything at the Plaza, parking is as you would expect really tight. but had a good time people watching and walking around the plaza

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kjmk95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“getting touristy”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Compared to my last visit 22 years ago I hardly recognized the plaza. It still is charming but now is quite the tourist mecca and in summer heavily visited. But in relation the quantity/quality of restaurants has improved. Not sure the shop quality has improved - perhaps a few of them - but now many more "souvenir" shops like Santa Fe. But Taos is still a friendly place and a much smaller scale than Santa Fe - making it more navigable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank twofromtexas61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The lovely Taos Plaza”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stopped for some local shopping in the Taos Plaza. Most stores sell local or related items. Fun place to explore. Center of the Plaza people watching is the game. Some musicians playing the day I was there. I understand it can be very crowded but was not the day I was there. Parked across the street. Easy walk around. Many stores around the outside as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend an afternoon!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Enjoyed the shopping, the wine tasting store and boutiques. Wish we had gotten there earlier so we could have seen more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kameronl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Taos Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing