We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful drive”

Ranked #6 of 93 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic drive that circles through the Carson National Forest, north and east of Taos.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We enjoyed the drive; the aspens were very colorful and took great photos. Especially enjoyed visiting the VietNam Veterans Memorial State Park and Red River. Would have liked more time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emjaymojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    108
    37
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Scenic Drive in NM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were delighted by beauty of this scenic drive. The road loops in and out of the national forest and gives way to some awesome overlooks. There is a visitors center in Angelfire that will provide you with information on whatever activities you may be looking for, and the woman pointed us to a really great sandwich shop for lunch where the hospitality was beyond exceptional. Just be sure to go before the frost hits and the leaves fall off the trees, I think we missed peak color by about a week or so by visiting in mid-October.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We started a habit by honeymooning in Eagle Nest several years ago, and have been drawn back almost every year. We love this area in October; it's not as crowded as in the summer. A lot of tourist attractions are closed by late October, but there is still a nice variety of shopping available. There are wonderful opportunities for fly-fishing and hiking. Red River is very touristy, but Eagle Nest and Questa are not, and very peaceful. Beware of car-sickness on the drive between Questa and Eagle Nest and between Angel Fire and Taos - very curvy roads. This area is our favorite place to go in New Mexico.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beautifu beautiful beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We took this drive in October when the leaves were changing and it was magnificent. One lovely vista after another. We stopped i Red River, first at the visitor center to get trail info, then at the Pioneer trail hike. The hike was great and we had lovely scenery all around. We continued on from Red River and just took in the incredible scenery. Definitely worth the time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chayared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful in the Fall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This drive takes you from Red River to Eagle Nest, Angel Fire, Taos, and then back to Red River. Our favorite part was the Moreno Valley just east of Red River because of the many vistas. Also, the little road just outside of Red River was by far the best as far as fall colors.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enchanted Circle Drive also viewed

 

Been to Enchanted Circle Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing