We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“need to spruce up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Song's Asian Restaurant

Song's Asian Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“need to spruce up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This restaurant was suggested by our host in Taos so I assumed it would be good. The place is in real need of some sprucing up; we sat on the deck and there is lots of peeling paint. The food is good and I would go back but I hope they do something to make the atmosphere match the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucypower48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Espanola, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fried Rice?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The service was average, I requested if my dish, could use fried rice, my response was "no fried rice", most other Asian restaurant if applied a fee of 2.00 for fried rice, I couldn't even get that. The food was overwhelming and it was due to, too much rice, and not enough meat or veggies. A little pricey for the food that we ate. Next time will try the lunch menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank thinktwice101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
362 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Deluxe vegetables and delicious tofu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The dish I got was really good. I can't remember the name of it, but it came with "deluxe vegetables" and delicious tofu. I have never had a tofu dish I didn't enjoy here. So good...

The atmosphere was kind of weird. I started it off by knocking over my giant glass of water while trying to stack the menus. Ooops! The waitress was gracious and friendly (as she always is) even though I gave her an unexpected cold splash.

My party's mistake was sitting in the area of the restaurant near the ice machine. It's difficult to converse when the wait staff is digging out ice.

Finally, the dishwasher (the machine, not the person) was LOUD the day we were there. It sounded kind of like a chainsaw was very close to us.

Next time I eat at Song's (and there WILL be a next time) I will sit far away from the beverage station and do my best not to spill my water. I can only hope the dishwasher (the machine, not the person) isn't quite so loud.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
362 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Excellent tofu dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I love the tofu dishes here. The food is really good and the service is very good. The waitress/owner is very friendly. Food gets to you fast and hot. I really enjoy this place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blaize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A pearl among closed clams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

First, every restaurant closes by 9:00p in Taos. Second, restaurants are overpriced. We were lucky that Song's welcomed us inside after 9p for a hot, hearty meal at very reasonable prices. Others were there and the service was attentive. Very good food!

Helpful?
Thank SooooooZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Song's Asian Restaurant also viewed

Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Song's Asian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing