We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have to go to New Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on La Loma Plaza
Ranked #9 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2006

If you have to go to New Mexico then this is the place to stay. Santa Fe (known locally as Santa Fake) and Albuquerque should be avoided - they are both ghastly - but Taos is still a charming and quirky small town with a number of interesting galleries, some good restaurants and interesting sights to see in the vicinity.

Desperate for somewhere decent to stay having had a disaster in Albuquerque, I rang a friend in Colorado for some advice and she steered me to this place. Much of it was built 200 years ago and the couple who now own it have been there 16 years (she was a former Mayor of Vail, and is as quirky as Taos itself and wonderfully helpful) . Each room has its own theme - mine was the Georgia O'Keefe room - and every room has a wood fire, laid and ready for a match. Perfect. The bathrooms tend to be very small and the baths too small for British tastes, but there is the usual range of bath robes, toiletries, slippers etc. Also books abound, DVDs by the hundred, CDs to suit most tastes and on your pillow at night, in place of the ubiquitous chocolate, there is a dream catcher. Breakfast was utterly delicious - anything you want - fresh fruit juices (truly fresh - I spend my life trying to explain to hotelliers that juice squeezed the night before is not fresh), smoothies, eggs cooked in every way imagineable - we had French toast made with croissant - you name it you get it. And for the first time ever in the U.S. decent coffee. And a choice, too.

In my mind New Mexico was a place where the mildly eccentric come to live, people trying to avoid the hazards of 21st century living, new age hippies and those wanting to drop out of the humdrum of urban striving. Well - here at the Inn on La Loma Plaza is about as close as you will get to this ideal. And the beds and pillows are sensationally comfortable. 3 or 4 new rooms are being constructed at the moment - the bathrooms will probably be better, and I'm sure that the standards will be as high as for the rest and the care given by Peggy Davis and her husband will be as attentive as ever.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shellfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Inn on La Loma Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 293 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2006

After a so-so visit in Santa Fe, we loved our visit to Taos. Peggy and Jerry are great hosts and the rooms and food were just what the doctor ordered. Of special note for us, the bed was really comfortable and they had a PC for guest access that eliminated carrying a laptop.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SpankyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed May 28, 2006

My wife and I recently spent two nights at this great Taos Inn. It is in a nice quite location, which is only a 5 minute walk to the square. Jerry and Peg (the innkeepers) could not have been more friendly and helpful, they truely made you feel like appreciated guests. They had plenty of good ideas for dining and sighseeing. Breakfast each morning was a treat, we don't get breakfasts like that very often.

We stayed in Careys Studio, which is on the second floor. The room has a small deck, and a private entrance. It is a large room with a wood burning fireplace, king bed, and nice window seats. We slept with the windows open, and awoke to the sounds of the birds. Very peaceful and relaxing.

Definitely, worth a stay. If you have any questions I would call Jerry or Peg. I am sure they will be happy to answer them for you.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We stayed here with our 2 chilren (11 and 13) and found it to be even better than we had anticipated. Fabulous breakfasts, easy walk to the plaza. Peggy and Jerry Davis, the innkeepers, helped us in finding our way around and made our experience of Taos so much better than it would have been on our own (and we're good about doing research before we go), we never would have done the little hike along the Rio Grande Gorge with their tip about where it was, and the restaurant suggestions were perfect. I just can't say enough good about this place.

Stayed: July 2005
10  Thank heddlemaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pella Iowa
112
Reviewed June 21, 2005

We had one of the best experiences ever during our recent stay at Inn on La Loma Plaza. The location was great, near downtown and was quiet. The food was wonderful and Peggy was very helpful with planning our days with activities and sightseeing. Our experience at the Inn made our Taos stay one of our top ten. We highly recommend a stay in Taos at the Inn on La Loma Plaza.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Okla. City, Okla.
113
Reviewed June 12, 2005

Peg and Jerry, the owners, were excellent hosts. They made you feel right at home, and relaxed. Both the grounds and buildings are spectacular, with the rooms reflecting the heritage of the area. The food was wonderful, and Peg is a great chief. Parking is private, convenient, and on-site. We walked to the various known areas to browse and shop. While staying there, a couple from Calif. needed to see a Dr. for their toddler-who was suspected of having an ear infection- and Peg proceeded to make arrangements with her own physician, to have the child seen immediately. She offered to make us dinner reservations, personally, and appeared to be ready at anyone's beck and call, for any need. We would highly recommend the Inn and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2005

We loved the Inn on La Loma Plaza. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The inn is set on a beautiful piece of property. Our room was very clean and accomodating. Maid service was wonderful; I think they cleaned the room everytime we left! The breakfasts were also to-die-for! I can not recommend this B&B enough. Also, they provide free daily use to the local gym which was a very nice gym with a pool, cardio equipment, and weight room (I think they even had classes). We would return in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on La Loma Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on La Loma Plaza

Address: 315 Ranchitos Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $204 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on La Loma Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn on La Loma Plaza is an historic Taos landmark located near the downtown Plaza providing intimate and luxurious accommodations. Sequestered behind high adobe walls, the Inn has expansive grounds, towering trees, and commanding mountain views. The spacious guest areas feature high ceilings, fountains, green plants and quiet corners. Most rooms have private patios or decks, sitting areas in front of the wood-burning fireplace, mountain views and include a full breakfast. One-bedroom studios, one and two-bedroom suites with kitchenettes are also available. AAA Four-Diamond rated for twelve years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn on La Loma Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On La Loma Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing