We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Girls Weekend at the Inn at La Loma!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on La Loma Plaza
Ranked #10 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Girls Weekend at the Inn at La Loma!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Peggy and Jerry made us feel right at home at this wonderful home away from home in beautiful Taos. We arrived before out rooms were ready, so they treated us to delicious champagne and truffles outside in their beautiful courtyard. After given a tour of this historic Inn, we settled into our rooms and then headed to the Inn's dining area where we had our choices of coffee, tea, cookies, bottled water and soft drinks. Breakfast at the Inn was fabulous! Not only did they serve a hot entree each morning, they also had yummy pastries, breads, bagels, yogurts, dried fruits and the BEST coffee ever. At breakfast each morning of our stay we gave Peggy our details for the day in Taos----she made our dinner reservations and gave us all the info we would need for a productive day of shopping and exploring. Thank you Peggy and Jerry for making our first stay in Taos such a memorable one. We loved being close to the plaza and the friendly people of Taos made our visit such a fun one.

Room Tip: Loved Carey's suite! Spacious and private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    32
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
205
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Save your money and your time.

The room we got, which was a so called 'upgrade' was dark, dingy and right next to the main street where you heard traffic all night. In addition, the glare from the street lights over your bed did not help you get a restful nights sleep.

Although we were scheduled to stay for two nights, our experience was so bad, that we only stayed for one. After speaking to Jerry, who was the owner, he promised he would refund my cost for the one extra evening. However, he could not do it at that time since his computer was down. I took his word for it and left. However, here it is 4 months later and I have not received a refund. I have called three times to get an answer from him, and he has not returned my call.

On top of all of this, breakfast consisted for cold muffins and something called a 'Corn Soufle' which did not taste like corn and was mushy.

On top of all of this and the lousy breakfast, There is nothing like seeing the owner appearing for breakfast in his pajamas which consisted of short sweat pants cut to his ankles, a stained shirt that he had on when we checked in and his shower clogs. That was when we had enough and left. We left behind a lousy experience including our lousy breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouR584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Easy walk to plaza. Enjoyed Graham's Grille on plaza twice! Breakfast at B&B was also a wonderful way to start the day. Stayed in the Happy Trails room which was wonderful with windows open at night to feel the cool Taos breeze. This was a celebration of our 30th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have picked a more romantic location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at this b&b three years ago in 2008. At that time we stayed in the newer addition and the room was excellent. On this visit, we thought and were told that we would have the same room. When we checked in Peggy said there was a mix-up in our reservation and took us to a tiny room that had a queen bed, lacked privacy and was very dark and generally outdated. It looks like it was decorated in the early 1980's. The service was mediocre. Peggy seemed distracted and not very in to running a bed and breakfast. Jerry was never there. Our towels smelled like bacon grease. We noticed that breakfast is only offered from7:30 until 9:00 and the brochure says it is from 7:00am until 9:30. We were also promised fresh cookies. We found none and when we were standing around looking for them Peggy said she would put them out and they were store bought. We thought why bother. We typically don’t eat store bought cookies. Dogs were barking through the evening. Their dog was always barking as people walked into the b and b. Their dog also went to the bathroom right on the lawn. Not very relaxing or peaceful. Hot tub has cob webs all around it. It doesn't get warm and it had a dirty brown film on the seats of the tub. We ran out of regular coffee. Coffee in the mornings was not ready in a timely fashion. No to go cups for coffee. Toilet seat was broken and slid to the side if you sit on it. Bathroom was tiny with no place to put anything. Bathroom was not clean and had hair on the tub tiles on our arrival. We love the historical significance of the inn. We love the walking distance to town. Peggy's breakfasts are delicious and we loved sitting outside on the patio eating breakfast in the mornings. The grounds are very pretty although they look a little neglected. Other guests that we did not know ended sitting outside our room window because apparently there is not sufficient seating for guests outside. We are sad to see such a once lovely b and b in such decline. We have stayed in fine places world-wide and we are shocked to see that this b and b is still rated highly. Look around Taos as you can find much better accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnLaLoma, Manager at Inn on La Loma Plaza, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
It always starts off on the right foot, when guests let us know at the time of check in if they have any questions, including occasionally whether they have been assigned to the room that they have booked. This process is very straightforward. We check the reservation as well as the confirmation (both our copy and the guest’s) that was emailed at the time of booking to see if a mistake has been made. Our practice is to upgrade guests when possible, which means that those booked into a queen room, if space is available, are offered the option to move to a king room or if booked into a king room the option to move to a king studio room. In reviewing the records for the past 90 days, we have upgraded over 35 reservations. In no case has any guest been moved to a queen room when a king was booked or to a room in the historic building when a room in the new wing was booked. Occasionally, when a guest sees the room that has been booked, they ask us for another option. We make every effort, space available, to accommodate these requests either a no additional or greatly reduced cost. This makes sense for both customers and owners/managers. We know that unaddressed frustration may result in a downward spiral and subsequent long list of concerns about everything imaginable. As always we take each of these seriously, as constructive criticism and make an effort to address each one. Thank you for your feedback. Equally unfortunately, it seems possible that this situation, which could have been readily corrected had we been aware, may have marred this weekend getaway. Next time, please let us know, when we can do something about it. We are committed to working with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The Inn at La Loma is a true gem; nestled walking distance from the heart of town within walking distance. The grounds were immaculately well kept with all the charm of adobe architecture with south western nuances. Its interiors surrender you to true hospitality; the inn keepers are simply fabulous. They offer stellar information, scrumptious breakfast and, most importantly, a warm welcome. I can't recommend them higher. Also, their petite canine was adorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Overall, it was a good stay. We got our room through living social and it's was definetly a great buy. It is a very convenient location not on a busy street so it wasnt noisy, but close enough to downtown so you could walk almost everywhere. We did have a mix up in our room reservation, however the did compensate for it later in our stay. The only bad thing I have to say is we were promised cookies everynight and didn't get them.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeEight292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I don't know about you, but when I travel to an out-of-the-way destination like Taos, I want to leave my car behind for awhile and use my feet. This inn is a perfect 10-minute walk from the restraurants and shops in Taos. You'll stay in an historic adobe building under mature pines beyond the sounds of traffic on the main highways that pass through town. It has the cozy, isolated feel of the old frontier fort that it actually is. The breakfast is included, Southwest, and delicious! Real wood fireplaces accent the rooms. I visited in the Summer and I'm anxious to get back for ski season.

Room Tip: Ask for wood burning, adobe fireplaces and a view of the grassy plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snifter285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.7 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on La Loma Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on La Loma Plaza

Property: Inn on La Loma Plaza
Address: 315 Ranchitos Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on La Loma Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn on La Loma Plaza is an historic Taos landmark located near the downtown Plaza providing intimate and luxurious accommodations. Sequestered behind high adobe walls, the Inn has expansive grounds, towering trees, and commanding mountain views. The spacious guest areas feature high ceilings, fountains, green plants and quiet corners. Most rooms have private patios or decks, sitting areas in front of the wood-burning fireplace, mountain views and include a full breakfast. One-bedroom studios, one and two-bedroom suites with kitchenettes are also available. AAA Four-Diamond rated for twelve years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn on La Loma Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On La Loma Hotel Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing