We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for beginners!”

Mountain Skills Rock Guides, LLC
Ranked #5 of 17 Tours in Taos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountain Skills Rock Climbing Guides offers guided rock climbing trips to the best climbing destinations in Northern New Mexico, and Las Vegas, NV. Whether you are a first time beginner or a seasoned veteran, come visit one of these pristine locations with us. You will be led by our professional, friendly, and experienced staff through an enjoyable adventure where you can relax and climb with confidence. Our staff has experience working with one on one privates, families, scout groups, church groups, corporate team building, and school groups of all sizes.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great experience for beginners!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had been climbing before but it was my family's first experience. We signed up for the Rock and Raft and enjoyed the instructors. They were very careful and explained everything to us. They made everyone feel comfortable and were very encouraging. We can't wait to do another trip here. The only thing is I would recommend that they tell their guests to have their own transportation to drive up to the rock climbing area - we were not aware until we met at the meeting place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank zkamal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rock Climbing near Taos, NM”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Every interaction exceeded expectations from booking the reservation to follow up with us a couple weeks later. I'm looking forward to seeing our pictures on the Facebook page. Jay was a pleasure to spend the day with: very skilled climber and teacher, very patient with us, and encouraged us to challenge ourselves in addition to being thoughtful, funny, and easy to be with. I highly recommend Mountain Skills especially if you are a beginner, have indoor climbing experience, or are curious about climbing and want to try it out in a safe environment with an experienced guide. Jay explained our options based on the weather that day, our skill level, and his knowledge of the area and how crowded it would be. We had a really great day of climbing thanks to Jay and Mountain Skills.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
“Team building event was awesome!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We brought a team of 9 to learn basic rock climbing skills as a team building event. It was far above our expectations in terms of how you have to listen to each other, cheer each other and learn to set and meet goals. Dan and Nathan were fantastic guides and everyone on the trip had a great time. We had people of varying skill levels, so it was great to see everyone conquer their goal, whether it was making it to the top, halfway or just giving it a try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico, United States
1 review
“Just hanging around!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Loved it 2 great lessons with Peter taught me the fundamentals of "climbing the wall" and what fun to just walk back down. Repelling is a blast and i plan to do more in the future. Taos has a lot of locations to enjoy the rocks and i vote Mountain skills the best company to go with!
i was able to compete with my name sakes!
Lizard,
Not a visit, i live here, but would say a "must do".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful rush”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Jay and Peter did a great job of going through safety, prep and technique as were setting up to do the initial repel. This was my first time to ever repel and I loved the two types of repel setups that we were able to try. The view was spectacular as you look down at the Rio Grande! I would definitely recommend these guys for repelling or climbing!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank agodinez80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Skills Rock Guides, LLC also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Skills Rock Guides, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing