We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Special Place to Relax”
other travelers have booked this property
Outdoor Composite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor Composite
Master Bedroom Composite View into Entry and Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Outdoor Composite
Master Bedroom Composite
View into Entry and Living Area
2nd Bedroom Composite
Fields Nearby
Field Nearby with Taos Mountain in the Distance
Pueblo Horse Greeting Walkers on the Way to the Plaza
100 Year Old Willow Lit up at Night
Willow in Front with Swing
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Living Area
Dining Area
View from Kitchen to Living Room and Front Door
Kitchen to Living Room
Ancient Storage Shack in Winter
Portal Icicles
Fresh Snow
Snowfall
Portal in Snow
Back Deck in the Snow
Latillas with snowcaps
Kiva Fireplace in Livingroom
Kitchen
Kitchen Nicho
Master Bedroom Kiva Fireplace
Master bath
Windows in Master Bath
Bath tub in Master bath
Master Bath
Master Bath Shower
Nicho over fireplace
Dining Area
Backyard, hot tub and peek of Taos Mountain
Backyard walkway to hot tub, outdoor shower and deck
Deck, outdoor fireplace and ancient apple tree
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Taos, Taos County, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SAnnGrace
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Special Place to Relax”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

As other reviewers have said, Casa Betita is such a wonderful place to stay. The old adobe house, which has been so carefully restored and contains beautiful and meaningful works of art, is a special place to relax, savor the moment, and simply have fun. My husband and I have stayed in many vacation rentals in the U.S. and abroad, and this ranks as one of the very top. The owner, Melissa, has done an outstanding job of imagining what every guest might require or enjoy. She has a book for guests that answers any questions regarding the house and Taos in general. We read every page and found it so helpful. We often cooked at home since the kitchen is a dream and super organized, and the gas grill was a pleasure to use. Sitting outside in the morning drinking coffee and watching birds and then again in the evening having dinner and wine were wonderful experiences. The hot tub was welcome after long hikes and the brilliant flowers around the yard made it all seem like paradise. Melissa is super professional and prompt to respond to any questions, and we always felt as if we were visiting the home of a good friend. The photo books showing the house and the reconstruction of it added to our appreciation of the love she must feel for the place. We look forward to another visit and understand why so many other reviewers said the same!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spending time in the house and outside it on the property.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
I just saw this and so appreciate not only your kind words but the fact that your experience was all that I'd hoped it would be when I made this home available. Thank You So Much.
Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a special and unique place with lots of little extras
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
I am only now reading reviews and I so appreciate yours. It is extremely gratifying when guests notice and appreciate the details of my home and enjoy them.
Thank You So Much
Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
comtbiker
Louisville, Colorado
1 review
“Tranquil retreat within beautiful home.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is THE place to get away from busy, daily life but still have access to all the fun and beauty of Taos. The house is only minutes from downtown but sits on a property that feels secluded and peaceful.

The whole house feels like you have stepped into a Sunset magazine article. From relaxing in the hot tub outside to enjoying the gourmet kitchen inside everything was top notch. I would stay here again in a heartbeat

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. Maybe someday it will be inside Sunset Magazine. And yes do come back in a heartbeat. I get to be here right now. The grass has been mowed and the flowers boxes are planted. Been cleaning up the yard and the evenings on the portal are sublime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nita W
Sausalito, California
1 review
“WOW!! What a place! Definitely the Most Perfect Place in Taos”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I agree with others. The photos are beautiful but don’t truly do justice to the actual experience of walking into this magnificently renovated adobe home. It is gorgeous, functional and so peaceful. Every room is filled with carefully selected pieces of art. Every wall and cove featured something new from the area. The experience was like being a special guest invited into someones treasured and truly loved home.The kitchen is well stocked with kitchenware, appliances and spices, etc. Anything you would need to help prepare meals. A short distance to the Plaza and lots of great restaurants nearby if you don’t want to cook. After days on the road driving and camping in Utah this was such a treat. Our only complaint was that we couldn’t stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Beautiful, peaceful and full of great art.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felipevaz
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Exceptional oprtional”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Do not hesitate at staying in Casa Betita: it is a great place. Beautiful house, authentic, with everything you may need. The location is very nice, near the pueblo river, and 5 minutes by car to the plaza. An undeserved problem is the neighbor's dog, that unfortunately, is very aggressive. Besides that, it was perfect.

Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2014
Dear Felipe and others,

The horrible dog has been handled. Others complained and now he is not allowed to roam. So all is well in the neighborhood.

Best!

Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinxmom
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
“Very nice home”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

The home was very nice even though the yard needed attention. If you are staying here the gate can be hard to open & close if you aren't a very big person. The water in the master bath shower wasn't working but a call to Melissa and it was fixed really fast, this was over a holiday weekend too!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing the owl everyday in the tree
Liked least: Weeds in the walkway
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2014
Thank you! I am sorry the yard needed work. You were there in May which is always the turnover month in terms of weather. Things get warm and then freeze again so honestly we usually wait until June so we know there will not be another freeze.

I am trying to come up with a solution to the gate being sluggish. I think come spring I will have to carve a space out of the dirt and put in some kind of bricks.

The water in the bathroom turned out to be an accumulation of minerals in the shower head. And yes is was miraculous to be able to have it tended to on a holiday weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing