We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Must visit...multiple times!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cueva Cafe

La Cueva Cafe
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Soups, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Must visit...multiple times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Some of the best New Mexican/Mexican food I've ever eaten. Dessert was probably the highlight, though everything was fantastic. Can't beat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KSommers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    206
    41
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This place was a hole in the wall but authentic Mexican food was plentiful. The mole was over the top and the green and red chile sauces were the best I have had in years. We even had the tres leches cake which was a special that night. The food was just like mom would have made if she were a great Mexican mama!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great patio and chili rellenos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The patio is super cute with lively Mexican music but still in a quiet area. They have a large sea food menu and not a ton to choose from if you don't like sea food, but the chili rellenos were the best I have ever had ! They were grilled so they had a nice smoky flavor and the cheese was melty and seasoned and the green chili was just the right amount of spicy. Fantastic ! The chicken mole enchiladas were not as good so I would order the chili rellenos for sure !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food in humble decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

If you're seeking elegant surroundings go somewhere else.
If you're looking for some of the best Mexican food anywhere this is the restaurant for you!
Owned and operated by restaurant employees who started their own establishment , they take great pride in every item on their menu and offer it at a reasonable price.
This is a great restaurant!
On our recent trip to Santa Fe and Taos New Mexico we found La Cueva Cafe to be highly rated in TripAdvisor. Our initial impression, looking at the exterior, almost made us reconsider. Based on external appearance this restaurant is not very appealing.
I ordered chicken mole enchiladas and my wife ordered fish tacos. For an appetizer we ordered chips and guacamole.
We've eaten at some of the most expensive Mexican restaurants in the United States and Mexico. This food was as good as, or better, than any of them. We ate it with gusto!
I ordered chicken mole enchiladas at two other restaurants in Santa Fe and paid a lot more for lower quality ingredients and taste.
La Cueva Cafe is well worth a visit!


Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
340 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice patio, limited parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The inside dining room is very small. The day I ate there, my friends and I sat outside on the patio. When I went inside to use the restroom (which is great, by the way), the interior seemed hot and stuffy. The outdoor seating on the patio is very nice, and that's where i recommend folks have their lunch or dinner. Our table was in the middle of the seating area, but had a huge umbrella, so we were not hit by the late afternoon sun.

Beware, this restaurant does not offer very much parking, maybe two spots for compact cars in the front. You can park on the street that runs along the side (south) of the restaurant. Depending on how busy the place is, you might have to park a ways down and take a short walk back.

The food was tasty and reasonably priced for a sit-down restaurant.

The service is good, with a friendly wait staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Cueva Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing