We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch!”
Review of La Cueva Cafe

La Cueva Cafe
Ranked #1 of 128 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Jacksonvile, FL
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The man at the parking lot up the street told us this was a great place to eat and he was right! It is very small but there are tables in the courtyard. I had a chimichanga and my husband had their lunch special which was shrimp in a sauce that was very tasty. The service was great and we would definitely eat here again if we get back to Taos.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColeenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    232
    47
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best place in taos”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

this restaurant is nothing to look at but they serve on the patio and the owners and servers are extra professional and the food is fabulous, for little money

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jane5505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Looking for a place to eat in Taos, go to La Cueva. It doesn't look like much from the street, but the courtyard where you can eat is very nice, and the food is great. I had the trout special on the recommendation of our waiter and it was delicious. My wife liked the Chimichanga a lot. For dessert we had the Key Lime Pie, which was not on the menu (ask for it), and it was the best we have ever had...and we love key lime pie. La Cueva is not fancy, but it is really a great place for a nice meal, is reasonable priced, and is close to the plaza. We came back the next day for a second meal, this time lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhamp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unremarkable”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My mole sauce was just okay, but my companions were very unhappy with their tacos: it was very bland and the beef underseasoned. Service was very friendly, but we were underwhelmed considering the glowing reviews (and our server's repeated warnings about the red chile sauce).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurascudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I am a regular”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

OK, I am biased. I have been eating here for a little over a year. It is my first stop when I get a chance to visit Taos. I love the tiny dinning room in a historic adobe. I feel like I am dropping by a friend's house. The small close environment often leads to meeting new friends. But, it is the food that keeps me coming back. I do not think of it as classic New Mexico cuisine, but as Mexican food with a little New Mexican flavor. I am hooked on their Mole sauce. If only I could have a Modelo to go with it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Cueva Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing