We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Taoseno Restaurant

El Taoseno Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you like Mexican style food, this is the place for you! The inside of this place is rustic, just like it ought to be in the West. The food is excellent !! The beef tacos are delicious, and the beans are true Pintos cooked to perfection w/o much spice. Don't get the Spanish rice though, it was disappointing. The portions are just right, you won't go away hungry.
Oh, you won't get chips and salsa while you wait for your entrée unless you purchase it separately. :(

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    60
    16
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

In an overpriced tourist town one doesn't expect to find an inexpensive family restaurant with great food, but this is it. It is packed with locals and for good reason. They offer wonderful made from scratch Mexican and NM favorites. I had a huge complete steak taco dinner for $8. Portions on everyone's plates were about 50% larger than most restaurants so you won't go away hungry. I commented that even the water was great, and the waitress explained that they don't use city water for cooking or drinks, but rather have their own deep well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spacepilot500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waskom, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Homey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Great breakfast burrito! My wife got it with green chile sauce and complained there wasn't enough. I got red on mine, and it was just right. Good red chile sauce. They said they remodeled inside & out, but all we noticed was new adobe on the outside; the inside still looks the same as it always has. If you're going for a breakfast burrito, Michaels Kitchen is just a little bit better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JP H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ma and Pa Restuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

First night in Taos, and not knowing where to eat, we decide to try the Taoseno, people talk about it often, Upon entering, so used to be seated, we were asked to seat ourselves, Felt like the olden days. next our waitress took our order, and as the evening arrived, we notice a lot of local people came in. Everybody new each other. Party meal was in the back room, "todo familia". When our food arrived, it was very good, and we were served large portions, which was good, to take back to our room. Thanks for the wonderful service and food,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank thinktwice101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent mouth watering N.M.Spanish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

On the 4th of July cruising the full circle from Santa Fe Alcalde N.M stopped at the Chevron gas station get coffee and a breakfast burrito and dry jerky for snacks thru Taos on to great tourist places like Red River, Elizabeth town , Eagle nest and Angel fire.Stopped at the Viet Nam Veterans Memorial (awesome place) sad but awesome, great gift shop for hats service pin etc. Back thru Taos stopped at El Taosenio to get supper...price is great the food is so tasty the enchiladas were mmmmmmmmmgood,the sopapillas with honey were perfect not greasy.There are other great restuarants in Taos but giving this

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry@ U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Taoseno Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Taoseno Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing