We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the best ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taos Lodging Vacation Properties
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Taos
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was the best ever!”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a hidden jewel in Taos. Located right off of the main street you are in walking distance to some great restaurants (Michael's Bakery, Dragonfly and Cafe Renato) as well as the plaza. This complex has 8 casitas. Our family used 4 of the casitas and the studio apartment. We had ages from 81 to 16.We stayed for 10 days. Everyone enjoyed the casitas and grounds. Lovey, the owner, is gracious and so accomodating. She and her family run and maintain the casitas and grounds. Lovey lives on site. We have only high praise for the cleanliness and care that is given to the casitas and the grounds. There is a nice grassy area for family gatherings as well as a fenced in area with tables and a hottub. The kitchens are well stocked with dishes and pans. Anything you need, all you have to do is ask.
Once you enter the grounds of Taos Lodging you can feel the calm and relaxing atmosphere. It is a place for happy memories to happen!

The casitas are historic in nature so there are some things that are not provided such as a dishwasher and there is no A/C. This was not a problem for us. Even though it got hot during the day, it cooled off at night for wonderful sleeping with the windows open!

Taos Lodging is great for single, couples or families. We are definitely planning to return to Taos and stay here again.

Currently they only take cash or checks, no credit cards. This was not a problem since we were aware of it ahead of time. Book early, this place was full just about the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgschroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
denver,co
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Taos Lodging has everything a visitor could want in Taos. Each casita is charming and equipped with all you would need for your stay.
Location is within walking distance of all that is happening in town.
The owner loves the town and is very knowledgable of all that is going on. Whether by yourself, with friends, or even a family reunion..check out Taos Lodging. When you read the guest books, you understand why once you have stayed there, you will return.

Room Tip: Each casita has its own personality. There is not a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artlady70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our stay at Taos Lodging was excellent. We went to Taos for some family time and to enjoy the great outdoors and we were more than impressed with our lodging choice. Taos Lodging consists of 8 casitas that are furnished in a true southwest theme. When we arrived at the property we were very impressed with the upkeep of the grounds and unique luminaries that light up the property at night. Our casita, #6, was very clean and organized with little "touches of Taos" throughout. The bedrooms have dressers, mirrors, and a closet so that you can "move in" during your stay. The kitchen was fully stocked with a stove, refrigerator, coffee maker and plenty of southwestern dishes and glasses to add to the ambiance while you are eating in the kitchen just off of the family room. The family room had a large sectional couch with a TV and coffee table. The casitas are made from adobe so they do a good job of keeping things cool in the warm summer months. For the very warm days there is a ceiling fan and floor fan.
There is a hot tub, which was great to relax in after a long day hiking on nearby trails in Carson National Forest or a long day of shopping the local galleries. Taos Lodging is close to "The Plaza" which is a great place to spend the afternoon looking for just the right souvenir to remind you of your great time in Taos.
The property managers at Taos Lodging were very helpful and gave us some great ideas for things to do while we were in town. I was very impressed with the level of service and their attention to detail. It made for a very welcoming feeling during our stay.
Taos Lodging was a fabulous place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a clean, well maintained place in Taos. We will be back- sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Hondo, NM
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Our family stayed in all of the casitas, save one, when they gathered for our wedding! The casitas are small houses with full, small kitchens, and sleep 2 - 6 people depending on size. VERY CLEAN! Family owned - very friendly & wonderful. We were allowed to have a large picnic under the cottonwoods with our friends and family - it was our informal rehearsal dinner. I cannot say enough about how nice this place is.
You get a feel for "old Taos" in these older, updated casitas under the cottonwoods.
They even accept well behaved pets! No pool, but there is a hot tub.
Within walking distance of the plaza and many galleries, museums and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hondomesagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nothern Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We are at the Taos Lodging as I write this. A writer friend recommended this place. She comes here often to get away and write. I am so glad that she let us in on this secret. We are in casita #8. If you go to their website there are pictures, but they do not do it justice. We arrived late afternoon and were very pleased. Our casita has a nice sized living room, dining room and well equipped but small kitchen. (There was even a blender for margaritas!) We also have two bedrooms. The first has a comfortable queen and in an attached room is a day bed with a trundle. This may be a downside because you have to walk through one room to get to the other. It did not bother us. The furniture is rustic/southwest and just right. The owners did not use the 80's colors, but plain white paint on the thick adobe walls with wood accents where appropriate. In the living room is a gas fireplace and a comfortable sofa. Although we are in early spring, the room was very comfortable- not chilly at all. There is also free wifi. Like the other reviewer pointed out there are several restaurants close by. Tonight we visited Orlando's just up the road. It was casual, fun and fantastic. There is also an organic grocery store not too far away. Many times we don't go to B&Bs with our kids, but because the casitas are mostly separated, I would feel comfortable bringing our young children without fear of disturbing other guests. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieMtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We rented casita #2 at Taos Lodging for three nights in late March. We were referred by Burch Street Casitas which had no vacancies. The casita had a living room with a fireplace, a large, well-eqipped kitchen, one bedroom (queen) , a bathroom and a laundry room.
Living room was comfortable though, as is usually the case, it could use better light for reading. The fireplace was nice, and handy since it was quite cold. The only heat was in the living room so the kitchen (where the windows were a bit drafty) tended to stay cold. But it got morning light which was nice at breakfast. The laundry was very useful since we were mid-way through a two week trip.
The kitchen had adequate dinnerware, cups, pots and pans, etc. There were even basic supplies like sugar, tea, coffee, salt and pepper, as well as laundry detergent.
The bed in the bedroom took up most of the room and was pushed against the wall, which might be an issue for someone not limber enough to climb in and out (and an inconvenience if you need to get up in the middle of the night.)
Taos lodging is well-located within walking distance (north) of the Plaza and near a number of restaurants (Michaels and Butterfly Cafe are a block away). There are also a hot tub and outdoor eating area which we did not use.
I would stay here again but might ask if another casita had a bigger bedroom.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.1 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taos Lodging Vacation Properties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taos Lodging Vacation Properties

Property: Taos Lodging Vacation Properties
Address: 109 Brooks St, Taos, NM 87571-6409
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Taos
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing