We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agreed -- very nice little museum”

Harwood Museum of Art
Ranked #18 of 96 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formed in 1923 by Lucy Harwood and several members of the Taos Society of Artists, the Harwood Museum of Art is the second oldest museum in New Mexico. The museum has been affiliated with the University of New Mexico since 1935, and it now boasts the internationally acclaimed Agnes Martin Gallery, galleries exhibiting highlights from the museum's collection of work by the Taos Society of Artists, Taos Moderns, Hispanic Traditions, and contemporary artists working in Taos, and changing exhibitions fulfilling the Harwood's vision to "Bring Taos Arts to the World and World Arts to Taos."
Detroit
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Agreed -- very nice little museum”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The nicest part was the Agnes Martin room -- dedicated to Ms Martin (who spent most of the patter part of her life in Taos), it contains several world-class gems. Far and away the most important elements in the collection.

Downside: the Harwood seems to to belong to any of the reciprocal museum programs, so you'll have to spend the very-reasonable $10/adult entrance fee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarwoodMuseum, Director at Harwood Museum of Art, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for your review, and for visiting the Harwood! Indeed, the Agnes Martin Gallery is a pilgrimage site of sorts for people from all over the world - we regularly host international visitors seeking to experience that very special space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    42
    10
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Harwood Museum has a nice art collection, in a quiet and lovely space. I especially liked the Hispanic art collection upstairs.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank katytudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarwoodMuseum, Director at Harwood Museum of Art, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for your review, and for visiting the Harwood! So glad that you enjoyed the Hispanic Traditions Gallery, those works by historic and contemporary Hispanic artists comprise a very important part of the museum's collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Small Museum with Crabby Staff”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

At least we got a discount because they were changing out the exhibits, otherwise, I would have been really disappointed. The lady at the front desk told us we could watch them hang the new exhibit, but when we approached the space, the woman hanging art harshly told us to go away. Her tone of voice was unnecessary. She could have easily asked for privacy using a regular tone; and we would have obliged. Furthermore, the space was not roped off or posted as closed until after she curtly told us to leave. Basically, in addition to the inaccurate info given at the front desk, some staff member failed to close the section off and then this woman took it out on us with her nasty tone.

After perusing the rest of the exhibits, while being watched like hawks as if we were about to rob the place, two of the staff members made comments suggesting we were almost done suffering through some culture for the day. What does that even mean? Two out of the four people in my group are artists. One has studied at one of the top art schools in the country. Yet here we were with these people suggesting we were somehow foreign to art and culture? Unacceptable.

I'm only giving this museum an average rating because I enjoyed the history, but I won't return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeaJenniTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director at Harwood Museum of Art, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and for sharing your candid feedback with us. I'm very sorry that you had an unpleasant encounter with a member of the museum's staff, and apologize to you on behalf of the Harwood. The experience that you describe does not meet our standards for customer service, and we will take this opportunity to reinforce those standards to all members of our usually wonderful team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
308 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“If you got in for free, ok.”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Local museum of mediocre quality run by the University NM. Much better collections of SouthWestern art around - in fact the Taos Visitor center has better art.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarwoodMuseum, Director at Harwood Museum of Art, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks very much for your review, and for visiting the Harwood. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
361 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“pleasant and well run museum”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I am not a fan of huge museums. How can one even begin to take anything in? I't like wine tasting...after 2 - you can't judge them anymore. This place is nicely sized. Interesting local artists.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harwood Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Harwood Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing