We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“8 happy chow hounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Love Apple

The Love Apple
Ranked #2 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“8 happy chow hounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We ate here after a full day of skiing Taos Mountain and with high expectations based on our preview of the menu. To the person we were very satisfied with the ambience, attentiveness of staff, food and wine selections and how wonderfully tasty all the food was! Desserts were awesome..salted caramel ice cream made in house! YUM!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hopkinsfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    169
    60
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a special experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were excited to go here as we were in search of organic and local fare. We were not disappointed! The food was varied, unique, and had a nice variety of flavors and textures. It was great to find an interesting, substantial vegetarian meal option as well! The service was really great-- friendly and attentive but not bothersome-- they checked in with us just enough. Was also really cool to learn how the building used to be an old church. There was some great artwork on the walls, and a nice open and elegant atmosphere-- it felt like a special experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mishaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overrated hipster meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went to the Love Apple recently and found it to be pretentious and overpriced. The farm-to-table ethos was particularly appealing, so it is disappointing to have to write this review. Be aware that they are a cash-only business--and that many major banks are not found in the small city of Taos (permanent population 6000). When we realized we would have to pay in cash, the very attractive red-haired woman at the front said they had only one table left, but could hold it for us for 15 minutes. When we returned after frantically trying to locate a bank, we were seated and noticed at least 8 empty tables. The food itself was (mostly) not terrible, but certainly not worth the exorbitant prices. The tortilla soup was heavy on the chile, and the mushroom pate was actually disgusting. The blue and yellow cornbread was the best thing that we ate. I feel as though I have to say one nice thing, so reaching...um, the Moroccan music was nice? Truly, unless you are in the snooty-foodie demographic, and/or the farm-to-table thing is more important than the atmosphere, the service, and the actual food, I would skip this one. I am wary of the previous excessively positive reviewers (maybe friends of the owners, or people who lack taste buds?).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon city
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Un Amour de Pomme”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Considering the environment and the philosophy of the restaurant Un Amour de Pomme, does not exactly live up to its name (my opinion). The name itself conjures up all kinds of good images, but too many details are not adding up.
The building looks run down from the outside. Once you arrive, your are invited to your table by entering a very narrow couloir that passes through the kitchen and its brouhaha (watch out for cluster of things or running into a waitress carrying a dish).
Our salad was very basic. We asked for bread and were told to order it which was corn bread and muffins! Who wants to have a fine dinner with sweet muffins?
My husband ordered the Tamales, as he put it was "different". My quail dish was good, but nothing refined. My glass of wine, was more like a 1/4 of glass, full price ($9).
The service was excellent with friendly ladies, just friendly on Christmas Eve, it just felt like few of them were definitively not excited to be there. Who would be frankly?
The desert was good (cranberry cake).
Ambiance: nothing to justify the outstanding reviews.
I could not help, but notice that tables were bare and most surprisingly was the silverware. Was it recycled? The forks were looking so pitiful and so small not matching the knives and if we talk natural and local, why use "paper napkins"? Why not clothe napkins?
The value was very fair.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I had the lovely experience of eating here. The manager of the B & B we were staying at recommended The Love Apple saying it was perhaps the best restaurant he had ever eaten at. Boy, oh boy, was he ever right! As we entered the exterior courtyard, we were greeted by the intoxicating smell of piñon burning in a fire pit. We then followed the hostess past the kitchen into the dining room which is a 200 year old adobe church. We were seated in the area that was the altar. For appetizers, we ordered the savory green chili and squash beignets and my husband had the potted pork rillettes. Both were amazing! My husband had the antelope entree which was so tender he could cut it with his fork. I had the potato gnocchi with leeks fennel, wild mushrooms and pear. It was delicious. We split a cranberry upside down cake with home made creme fraiche ice cream. We thought we had died and gone to heaven. Don't miss this if you are anywhere near Taos. It ranks among the best meals I've ever had anywhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Love Apple also viewed

 

Been to The Love Apple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing