We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High style and great food with local flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Meze Restaurant

El Meze Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
El Meze Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hail Creek
Description: We are located in the El Torreon Hacienda built in 1847 which reflects our philosophy, our food and the historical influences of Taos. From June - September we have patio seating under a tent with twinkle lights and the most incredible view of Taos Mountain.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High style and great food with local flavor”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Couldn't have been more delighted with this gem of a restaurant. Even before entering the cozy dining room of this charming "hacienda," we were blown away by the view out back of the mountains surrounding Taos. Diners this summer will surely enjoy this unique outdoor space for pre- or after-dinner drinks. More pleasant surprises awaited us inside -- as we savored our sumptuous meals that were locally-sourced. The posole was truly inspired. Service was friendly and attentive. Hands-down the best meal we had during our 8-day trip throughout Northern and Southern New Mexico.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    110
    33
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't Miss”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Small menu but wow is the food great. Lavender and thyme fries, grilled hearts of romaine salad and they were so kind as to work with my allergy to pepper. Some people said the staff could be snobby but we found everything wonderful. Don't miss this restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokosmom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hip and cozy”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We love tapas style dining and this place filled all our needs. Food was creative and portions just right. Most of the wine is Spanish or Italian, and we found a new one for future enjoyment

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OCIronMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best fish ever”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

the trout served on a bed of spinach was beautiful with wonderful flavor and texture . it was a little dark inside but I got used to it . the interior is very attractive though

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misssouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A bit underwhelmed”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Started with the olive appetizer, which was deep fried. Not my favorite. My husband had the roasted romaine salad which was hands down the best dish of the night. I had the asparagus salad which was chilled. We split the ribeye which at 16 ounces was plenty for us.

The restaurant is small and inviting. Odd that it is next to a water treatment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmezeowner, Owner at El Meze Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
The restaurant is NOT NEXT TO OR ANY WHERE NEAR a water treatment. The company who owns the building that we rent our space from is El Prado Water Company. They use the front spaces of the 1847 hacienda for their offices and business needs only (ie: customers paying their water bills or board meetings).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meze Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Meze Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing