We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was amazing, service wonderful, everything spot on.”
Review of El Meze Restaurant

El Meze Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
El Meze Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 130 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hail Creek
Description: We are located in the El Torreon Hacienda built in 1847 which reflects our philosophy, our food and the historical influences of Taos. From June - September we have patio seating under a tent with twinkle lights and the most incredible view of Taos Mountain.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was amazing, service wonderful, everything spot on.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had an amazing dining experience at El Meze. We were a large party and every dish was delectable. The rib eye was incredible, far beyond just a good ol' steak. The tamale dish was out of this world! We were all incredibly impressed with the service and attention to detail. We were never left wanting for anything. We had some tweens in our party and our server was very helpful in finding menu items they would enjoy (which they did!). The wine list was varied and had options for everyone. I think what I liked most was the warm welcoming atmosphere. This is clearly a high class establishment but they are not pretentious and they appear to really enjoy sharing their love of food. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nmmickeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    114
    33
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taos, NM USA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfection personified”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Don't miss this! Great food, great flavor and great service. Best buffalo ribs around. Reservations are usually needed and wise to call ahead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bogey911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecos, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you want exquisite food, wine, and service--and you are willing to pay for it--this is the place to go! Menu is Spanish/Mediterrean with a flare for fascinating flavor combinations. Case in point: the Blue Cheese Stuffed Fried Green Olives are tasty starting points if you don't mind the salty flavor. Michael was the best waiter we have had in MANY years. He recommended perfect wines to compliment my sea bass and husband's trout. His dessert wine recommendation was an exceptional accompaniment to the to-die-for Lemon Mousse with raspberry Napoleon. The sea bass was crisp on the outside and succulent on the inside--perfect! It was served deliciously with roasted cauliflower. The light, melt-in-your-mouth mousse was a delightful ending to a wonderful meal. For a true gourmet experience, don't miss El Meze.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2lovenlearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food but Need More Seasonal Variety”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a real change, since my husband and I had never been here in winter. The indoor setting was cozy and initimate as opposed to the expanse of the great outdoors in the summer months. I was very surprised that there had been NO menu changes and there were no additional offerings. The menu is limited which is not a problem if they were offering some seasonal specials. We are looking forward to spending more time in Taos this year, but will not be coming here so often if there is not more variety. The food served is excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmezeowner, Owner at El Meze Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I usually don’t comment on 4 plus star reviews but I was really taken back by your comment that you had been to the restaurant in the summer (July and Aug) and came back in the winter (Feb) and claimed there were “NO menu changes and there was no additional offerings”. We do have our core items like any restaurant which will always be on the menu since these are signature dishes that customer’s expect to see. But to claim there was nothing different from the summer menu you that you had to what we are serving in the winter is so INCORRECT. On the Feb menu there was sweetbreads, mussels, collard greens, oxtail soup, chicken noodle soup, duck confit and pasta e fagiole – none of these items were on the summer menu and never will be since they are considered by us as winter dishes. In regards to seasonal specials – we don’t do specials. Our philosophy has always been for the 5+ years that we have been open is to serve only stellar dishes thus we test everything numerous times to make sure it is exactly what we want. There are many items that one would consider good but do not make the menu because they are not the caliber we want them to be. We are a small restaurant so our menu will always be limited compared to other restaurant but it does change with the seasons along with availability of produce which unfortunately in New Mexico is not as rich as Virginia. Our menu is always up to date on our web site so one can always check it out before deciding to make a reservation and dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had reservations for 10 people at El Meze on a Saturday night. The food was consistently amazing. We had a mix of small plates and entrees. Each dish was distinct and tasty. The selection was wonderful and everyone found something they wanted. I highly recommend the trout and I heard rave reviews of the buffalo dish as well. Dessert was espresso creme brulee. It was simply amazing. The service was wonderful and the atmosphere was perfect. I will absolutely return each time I am in Taos.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meze Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Meze Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing