We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, wonderful guide”

Los Rios River Runners
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Los Rios River Runners is New Mexico's oldest, largest, and most experienced rafting company. We've been rafting through the spectacular river canyons of northern New Mexico since 1972. We offer trips from mild to wild, from half-day to 3-days, from the world-class white-knuckle whitewater of the Taos Box (available as a full-day adventure or as part of a multi-day overnight) to family fun adventures and serene floats. Spend starry nights in the serene Chama wilderness, or float along a mellow section of the Rio Grande with a Native Pueblo guide and a traditional feast meal awaiting you at the takeout. Sunset dinner floats too! And check out our multi-sport adventures: rock and raft, pedal and paddle, and paddle and saddle. Los Rios has more access to more stretches of river than any other NM rafting company, and offers the broadest variety of trips. Come boating with us, and take home lifetime memories.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent experience, wonderful guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was an excellent experience. We did the half day trip on the Racecourse at Pilar on the Rio Grande. These were class 1-3 rapids at a low water level. Our guide, Trenton, was very professional, informative, and entertaining, and he inspired confidence which was important to us considering we had our 7 yr old with us who had never done anything like that and was very nervous. It was our first day in the Taos area, and we learned a great deal about the history, geology, culture, and even politics of the area. We were the only ones on the trip because it was the "slow season". They had splash suits for us, took great photos along the way, and had a nice snack for us at the end. Trenton was very accomodating, great with our daughter, and was careful not to rush us when we were getting suited up, changing at the end, etc. We would definitely take a trip with them again, and we would also ask for Trenton!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    15
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gulf coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You'll paddle. You'll get wet. You'll have fun.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My daughter (29) and I took the Racecourse Half Day rafting trip. I would recommend going on a Sunday AM trip, if possible. For a large portion of the trip, we were out there alone, with no other boats on the river. The guide was very experienced, and safety was his first concern. There are other companies that raft that river that are 5-10 dollars less (with a coupon), but they're rafts were packed with people, too many in my opinion. I enjoyed having a smaller raft, and smaller size group. My only complaint is that our guide was about 15 minutes late for our meeting point at Rio Grande Gorge Visitors Center. If you don't want to get totally soaked, tell the guide to skip the "river surfing".

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank onthevermilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great rafting trip with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We wanted a quick, safe, but exciting raft trip. With 2 kids, 6 and 11 we did not want to do anything crazy on the water. Los Rios had the perfect trip for kids; 1/2 day racecourse. The guide was great with the kids and made the trip a lot of fun. You get just enough rapids for excitement but not enough to get in trouble. I would return

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank grenny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great way to spend the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had a great day on the full-day tour in the Lower Gorge. Adrienne was our guide -- she was fantastic at finding thrills for my kids (ages 13, 10 and 7) and providing a wealth of information about the canyon. We wish the water had been higher (certainly not Los Rios's fault) but we had a blast anyway. Lunch and swimming in the river were great and refreshing in the 90+ degree heat. The office staff were great to deal with in making my reservations. I was concerned about the fact that my kids had never rafted, but this was the perfect trip for us. When Adrienne got our boat to "surf" one of the rapids, the kids could not stop laughing. This was one of the highlights of our vacation.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank nmbsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Fun, Even in Low Water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Although it was definitely not peak white water season, our guide, Adrienne, made sure that we had a ton of fun anyway. The rafting was mostly pretty calm, with beautiful scenery and a warm enough day to make the swimming really nice. We look forward to going back when they're doing the Box and there's a little more excitement on the river. Lunch was delicious. Overall a great experience!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank danawwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Rios River Runners also viewed

 

Been to Los Rios River Runners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing