We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yolanda!”
Review of Taos Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taos Country Inn
Ranked #15 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a charming and comfortable inn...and while there are many of these in the area, the reason to choose this over the others is Yolanda. She could not have been more warm, gracious and helpful. Once you find this inn (be sure to get good directions...it is hard to find!), she will make you feel right at home, like an old friend. We hated to leave!

Room Tip: We found that the inn's web site was very helpful and accurate in helping us choose a room.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sacagawea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

When we drove down the many winding roads, we wondered if we had missed a turn. When we saw Karavas Road and finally drove over the old wooden bridge and rounded the corner, we felt a sense of coming home. This is a beautiful place that has been modified to accommodate weary travelers. If you like sterile, stainless steel boxes where everything is boring, this place is not for you. If you like large, sweeping views of old Taos and views of the mountains; if you like almost two feet thick walls; if you like beautiful flower beds and shade trees and a large suite filled with soft, warm colors, a fireplace and beautiful carved wood and tiles, then you will love the Taos Country Inn. The light coming in from the windows and the skylights is so clear and bright that you just smile...and then there is your host, Yolanda. She welcomes you as an old friend, and you never want to leave. We made new friends at breakfast and discovered that there are many repeat visitors.
I would describe the breakfast as gracious continental with a presentation of fresh fruit, a granite cheese board with a yummy selection of cheese, homemade granola, flaked coconut, a Nambe pitcher of cold milk, coffee, teas, juice and a hot dish such as homemade blueberry pancakes, cooked by Yolanda and brought out to us after we finished our fruit course.
You might find an occasional crack in one of the tiles and you might find that sometimes the wood doors stick (like when it rains). This is all part of the charm. We noticed that most people wanted to be outside, walking around the grounds or sitting in one of the patios. The mood is mellow, relaxing and needed by all of us.
We will be among the repeat customers. It was two days and nights of bliss.

Room Tip: With the exception of one room, all are on the main floor. Look at the Taos Country Inn website for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Three days prior to our arrival, Yolanda called me to let me know that she didn't have a room for me because "the girl forgot to put your reservation in the book". I was shocked as I had made the reservation 2 weeks ago. She then proceeded to tell me that I would get my money back but that I needed to call Orbitz to let them know. Then she went on to say that she could refer us to some other comparable establishments in Taos. When I collected myself I informed her that I was not at home and didn't have any information about my booking to call Orbitz and that since she cancelled the reservation the least she could do would be to contact the booking agency to ask them to return my payment and find me another place to stay. After going back and forth with her, she finally agreed to contact Orbitz and find another place that we could stay. She called back later and informed me that she had called the booking agency to inform them of the cancellation and had found another place with room to accommodate us. I asked her at that point when she received the other booking that took precedence over ours. She did not give me an answer. Given that the Inn has only 8 rooms, the fact that Yolanda can't keep her bookings straight is at best a reflection of her disorganization and poor management and at worst a reflection of unethical business practices. I suspect that what really happened is that someone booked directly with the Inn which meant that she didn't have to share the fee with Orbitz and she decided to bump our reservation. So, beware, just because you book here, you may not be guaranteed a room.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

All Bed & Breakfast establishments should be run by people like Yolanda. She's a great hostess, friendly like she's known you forever and a font of information. The Inn itself is indeed in the country so you need to keep a close lookout for the drive, but it's seclusion adds to the charm. It's very clean and spacious, the rooms are excellent and the food wonderful Strongly recommended..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently followed up a great stay in Santa Fe with an equally enjoyable experience at the Taos Country Inn. The location was outstanding—in the country, of course, but not that far from town. The inn and the grounds were beautiful, and the room was spacious and comfortable. Yolanda greeted us like old friends and was a wealth of information on the area. We just needed more time to work our way through her numerous dining suggestions. We look forward to returning to Taos and the Taos Country Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I enjoyed out stay at Taos Country Inn. I like being out of town in the quiet. The room was wonderful, clean roomy and tastefully decorated. I would recommend this place to anyone. Yolanda is a wonderful host with lots of local information.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Go see Yolanda! She will take great care of you and you'll have no regrets. Very nice & spacious rooms just a few minutes drive from the town center. Nothing bad to say about this place. We arrived late on motorcycles and Yolanda left the lights on for us. We were most pleasantly greeted in the breakfast area the next morning. This is a very old and well kept adobe home. Our rooms each had their own exterior door as well as adobe style fireplaces. Comfortable bed, great shower, nice towels and even bath robes provided if you feel the need to use one. The well water is delicious and Yolanda encouraged us to fill our water bottles before leaving, which we did. As someone else mentioned, the TV was on the smaller and older side by today's standards, but it's adequate as no one should be spending that much time viewing the TV in a beautiful place like this. We just wish we had more time to stay longer. - Adam, Michelle & Brian

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms to the far right when facing the front, but got a personal tour of this most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.6 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,212 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
536 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn on the Rio
Inn on the Rio
#13 of 23 in Taos
192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taos Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taos Country Inn

Address: 720 Karavas Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: $164 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taos Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an extraordinary vacation at our historic Taos Bed and Breakfast hacienda nestled among beautiful gardens and towering trees on 22 acres in Taos, New Mexico. Your day begins in your luxurious suite, with such Southwestern treasures as hand-carved furniture, kiva fireplaces and local artwork. After a bountiful gourmet breakfast, explore the cultural and active pursuits that make Taos NM unique: the Historic Taos Plaza, art galleries and festivals, the 1000-year-old Native American community at Taos Pueblo, horseback riding, hiking, fishing, rafting and more. In the evening, relax on one of the beautiful patios and soak in amazing sunsets, incredible views of Taos Mountain and the star-filled New Mexico sky. Your hostess and Taos native Yolanda Deveaux is happy to share her knowledge of Taos and its history to make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Taos Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ranchito
Ranchito Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing