We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience, won't be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taos Valley RV Park and Campground
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Save yourself the trouble. This RV park has little to offer, and it's owners are cheap. Bathrooms provide a tiny wooden bench in the shower stall changing area, too small to sit on (an I'm a size 2), and one soap dispenser for 4 sinks. The playground is dilapidated with broken planks, and nails sticking out of it. Only let your kids play there if they have current tetanus shots. The park is half a block from the highway so traffic noise is constant through the night. In addition, there is fine print on your bill that a late charge will be applied if you fail to check out by 11:00. We left our empty pop-up in our space while we went on a morning hike, packed up early afternoon only to discover that we had been accruing a 5$/hour late fee. By the way, the park was empty with about 35 spots available or more... We received a letter in the mail with charges to our credit card amounting to almost another night's fee. We will never use this facility again....or recommend anyone else stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 64 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed 4 nights. Had a site with a great view. Some person from PA commented elsewhere that this place was poorly landscaped....excuse me? This is the high desert...what are you expecting, lawns? We loved it and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AZteri4164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days. Had no problems with anything on site, plenty of spaces available during spring break. Pretty scenery. They have a laundry room and playground for the kids.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gyroman2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We travel here every year for spring break. We have always enjoyed our stay at the Taos Valley RV Park. It's quiet, peaceful and clean. What more does one need? We love it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBFarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We spent three days at the Taos Valley RV Park. After reading the one bad review posted here on Tripadvisor, we were extremely surprised when we arrived at Taos Valley RV park. The place is beautifully landscaped and well maintained; with clean bathrooms and a nice playground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And, last but not least, Taos Valley RV Park is centrally located yet peaceful and quiet.
I believe that the person who posted the bad review stayed (as stated in the review) Taos RV Park, not Taos Valley RV Park. So, don't get these two mixed up!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Germerican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We stayed here for a couple of weeks. Met very nice people that work here part time, workampers I suppose. We're new to traveling in our bus. Found that our ride's electrical demands can far exceed this park's capacity. We're on a 50 amp circuit that is one of six circuits that share 150 amps. Just not enough juice to go around. The good thing is that we have learned to manage our electrical needs. This park is very nicely landscaped, well taken care of, site size is generous, staff is very helpful and the location is very good for getting around the Taos area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jim_and_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2005

Surprisingly, there's not a lot of choices when it comes to RV parks in the Taos area. We chose Taos RV park based on the web site, which didn't feature accurate photos of the site. There are no amenities, the sites are barren; and despite record rainfalls, the sparse grass strips between sites are dying. Nearly all the picnic tables could use a repair or two, and a new coat of paint. The entrance is hard to find, thanks to both an erroneous MapQuest map, and overgrown trees around the park's streetside sign.
The hosts are friendly, although I had to argue for my Good Sam discount because I was using a temporary card. The host never accessed Good Sam's web site or made a call to their 800-number. He made me feel as if I was lying about the card, and my membership in Good Sam.
The bathroom facilities are among the cleanest we've encountered and internet wireless access is free and reliable.
If you've only a short night on your journey, Taos RV park is okay. Located south of the old town, it's nearby to Walmart.
Stop for a great Mexican meal at Guadalarja's, just a few blocks north of the park.
Head north on Highway 68/64, through the village, and follow the signs to the Taos Pueblo. You'll never get closer to an authentic multi-storied pueblo, and the people who live there. Lots of authentic crafts and artwork, too. Surely it takes money to keep an old pueblo going, so don't be surprised at the $10 entry fee, or the $5 camera fee.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MacPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
7.6 mi away
Hotel Luna Mystica
Hotel Luna Mystica
#6 of 15 in Taos
6 reviews
3.3 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,274 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.5 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taos Valley RV Park and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taos Valley RV Park and Campground

Address: 120 Este Es Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6638
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Taos
Price Range: $18 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Taos Valley Rv Park And Campground Hotel Taos
Taos Valley Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing