We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
El Pueblo Lodge(Taos)(Great Value!)
$150
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$249
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Historic Taos Inn(Taos)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
75
92
67
58
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
92
67
58
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred riversanta fekitchenettegroundsnm
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 357 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2009

GOod location, cheap ($42!) clean and cute BUT very hard bed! If you can handle that, I recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTinUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

There are many really wonderful things about this motel. First of all the large lawn with chairs and tables right in front. Friendly and cooperative staff - our heat was running all day, they fixed it as soon as we asked. Always someone pleasant in the office when it was open. On the rack card it said "free continental breakfast" but we never discovered if or where it existed! Maybe the card was out of date. Here are a couple of things that could make this a really great place to stay: First, invest in new mattresses and pillows. The pillows were so thin, they offered no comfort at all, and our mattress was dodgy - not much support. The ice machine broke after our first day there - this was probably just unlucky, but it was still not fixed when we left (2 days later). The setting was so lovely, just off the main road, but because of the landscaping it seemed more secluded. Answer your emails! I tried to upgrade our room before we left, but no one replied. We would love to come again, but only if the above improvements have taken place. We wouldn't recommend this place YET.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandmasfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The motel looks nice, it's a great to sit outside ( if it's warm enough), but I expected more from all the positive ratings.
The rooms are ok, the furniture looks nice, but the electric connections look dangerous and don't function really well.
Not clean everywhere but in the important parts it is.
The staff was helpful, I could change rooms at once, the first smelled of smoke, though declared non-smoking.
No breakfast. No ice, no fridge.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doroPfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We picked the Sun God as a test since it was inexpensive, $59 per night plus tax. The motel was built about 50 years ago and is a bit down at the heels. The room we were in was small, originally with a double bed probably, but now with a queen size bed. The mattress was too soft and only two small pillows were provided. My wife asked for an additional pillow and was told none were available. The motel was half empty so the staff didn’t exert themselves too much on our behalf.
We stayed in a unit across a nice, shaded lawn from the office. The lawn had picnic tables which was a good thing. The advertised wireless internet connection was not usable from our room, but if we went out and sat at a picnic table about 50 feet from the office we could get an adequate connection. There is no AC, but in TAOS that’s not too bad. There was an old ceiling fan in the room that helped at night. There is no swimming pool, but there is a small hot tub, but we didn’t bother since it was quite a distance from our room. I probably wouldn’t stay there again since it is too Spartan for my tastes. If you are on a budget, however, it would be OK

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbuquerqueTexian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

My friend and I needed an overnight stop in Taos and, based on reviews on TA, we booked the Sun God Lodge.
While we weren't expecting fabulously luxurious accommodation, we were - quite reasonably - expecting to find a clean room. This we did not get.
There were hairs all over the bathroom floor, a sticky substance on the bedside table and the bed covers clearly had not been recently laundered. My friend called the front desk to tell them of our dismay but was told the place was full and they could not give us another room. No offer was made to clean the room - the cleaners had gone home for the day - and no apology was forthcoming.
So, we had little choice but to stay the night and in the end we opted to leave very early in the morning so we could get home and shower off the filthy feeling left by staying in a dirty room.
Subsequent communications to the Sun God Lodge by my friend with regard to our stay were also left unanswered.
We were distinctly unimpressed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ams29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews