We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
192 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Really decent and good price. Friendly, attuned staff. Room was just fine. The hot tub is outside and tiny. Four people maximum. A real bonus is the local coffee shop across the street. Excellent coffee and breakfast offerings there. I definitely recommend this motel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    92
    65
    54
    49
See reviews for
66
124
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I came to the Sun God Lodge after having the misfortune of wrecking my car in Taos. The proprietors were incredibly friendly, and after learning of my situation, they went above and beyond to accommodate me and to help me through my troubling situation. It is a lovely little property and I found my room to be cozy and comfortable and a great value. Thanks for everything, Gasper!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a great rate for last minute at high season. I prefer to support Mom and Pop establishments but the room needed a thorough vacuuming. I did not get bed bugs.. good luck, next tenant. They will not earn my repeat business.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SooooooZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taos hotels

Peralta, New Mexico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have stayed here several times and enjoy staying in the back near the outdoor hot tub. Even in winter it was a short walk back to my room. Being far from the busy highway with another building in between made it a very quiet and peaceful stay. Right across the road from Walmart makes it easy to grab any shopping items while you are there. Wifi signal was very strong and they may have added a second router to serve the back of the property. Service at the front desk was prompt, friendly and helpful. For the low price this is a very comfortable place to stay in Taos. Maintenance is falling behind in some areas and the potholes in the parking lot need to be filled.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back near the hot tub. All rooms allow parking outside your door. No elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at the Sun God Lodge in Taos for a night. It was perfect for us. It was clean and reasonably priced. We were going to arrive late in the night and they left a key for us--so easy. And we spent some time in the hot tub, which was lovely. The view of the mountains from our room was awesome, and the decor of the room was really nice. We'll stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back by the hot tub--it looked like that building was newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maufrais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

My second time staying at this property. I loved everything about it the first time. I would love everything about it this time ... except for ... the wifi is very intermittent (boo) and since it snowed last night, I got up and got ready to go to their outdoor Jacuzzi ... and found it is only open from 4 - 10 pm ... (another BOOOO!)

Room Tip: I stayed in room 137 directly across from the hottub/bbq area in the back of the property. NOtice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySoloCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Sun God Lodge was a mixed bag of experiences but overall worked for what my group needed. I was skiing in the Taos area for the weekend and need a cost conscious and convient place to stay. I booked over the Internet the 2 bed and pull out kitchenette. Later that day, I received a call from the hotel letting me know they accidentally booked my room in person to someone else however they would give me 2 rooms with a kitchenette for the one room price. Good customer service always good. The rooms were clean and decorated with cute Taos quirk. We were dissapointed to find the kitchenette was limited to a sink, mini fridge, empty cabinets, and an incomplete set of flat and silverware since we were planning a spaghetti dinner and toasted bagels for breakfast. In my opinion a hotel that advertises kitchenettes should at least include a two burner stove,
toaster, and basic cookware.
The beds were a little firm but I still slept well. The room was extremely hot and the thermostat was not working. By the middle of the night it was so hot we slept with the door open.
Overall, the hotel worked great as a clean, safe, and cheap place to crash but I would not stay there for multiple days.
Bonus points to the lodge for great bath products and front desk service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josalyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 17 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.0 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Property: Sun God Lodge
Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing