We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Luxury, "Great Deal"”
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed October 12, 2013

When we first opened the door to our Kitchenette Room; We felt we had stepped into a time warp : ) UNIQUE, Does Not Begin to describe the Ambiance, Decor, Spotless Cleanliness, and
Warmth of our room and the surrounding area. The Managers were two of the friendliest Individuals we have ever encountered. What a way to stay in Old Taos. We also HIGHLY Recommend the Festivals; we attended the WOOL festival and loved every minute.

Room Tip: If you wish to save a bit on meals, though there are many fine restaurants there, Get the Kitchenett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 353 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place looks great from the outside, and the clerk was pleasant and helpful. The were small and outdated. The mattresses were as old as the motel. The tv was 20 years old and small. The water was so s salty we could not make coffee. The rates were cheap, but for a reason. Good for one night in a pinch.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyboyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

You can only make a first impression once...
Erin, the evening clerk made a great first impression with his warm smile, professional attitude and efficiency.
We stayed in room 246 which is nicely appointed with a living area, kitchenette two queen beds and a balcony.
Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wearytraveler277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Not one to write a negative review--but honestly the owner needs to put some repair dollars into this hotel. Room not clean--esp.bathroom. I can do funky for$40--$50 but not for $80. Must say the office check service was excellant--very polite and knowledgable youngman.

Room Tip: Stay away from rm 105--mold in bathroom, window has what looks like a small bullet hole and lrg crac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nicely maintained older Lodge. Much more charm than newer chains. Though on main thoroughfare, it is set back and our room was very quiet. I would stay here again. Also the rates were very reasonable.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent one evening in this location. Neat little room that felt "right" for this city. Neat touches in the rooms décor. The owner (Jasper I believe) was exceptionally friendly. Perfect example of a small location trying to do things the right way. Didn't use the hot tub but it looked nice and clean. Quiet and comfortable. Close to all the town's attractions. Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Owners Cindy and Jasper were very congenial, professional and did everything to make my stay there a great one. Recommendations of local business es and directions to Ojo Caliente made my stay even more enjoyable.The room was quiet, clean and had everything I needed for one or more night's stay. The courtyard makes for a very welcome stay. I highly recommend the Sun God Lodge.
See you next time Cindy and Jasper!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
388 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $72 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing