We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a quiet place to get a good night's sleep. The hotel is located on the main street across from Wal-Mart, and is especially convenient if you are wanting to visit Ranchos de Taos.

Our room was large and included a microwave and frig, and came with dishes. The room was clean: clean sheets, clean bathtub, and clean floor.

The hot tub was open and clean the night we were there. The wifi was down due to the provider replacing the buried cable. It should be completed in around 3 weeks.

The best part about this hotel is the staff. The front desk agent, manager, and even the maintenance guy were friendly, professional, and helpful. The front desk agent recommended a few events taking place the night we were there. The following day, the manager and maintenance man made several good recommendations about where to eat.

The staff was also extremely accommodating to infants with special needs (infant is a preemie who must have a VERY clean environment. His room was exceptionally clean.)

Room Tip: If you have an infant with special needs - let the staff know. They are really accommodating.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoboDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Sun God Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 352 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at this motel only one night and cancelled the second night because of soiled linen on the bed and mold in the bath tub area. The area outside was lovely but there is a need to do some serious cleaning.

Very nice people in the front office and gave good advice on restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After checking in with a super helpful and friendly desk clerk, we motored to the back of the property and parked right below our second floor motel room. Large room with two queens, mini-kitchen, air-conditioner, large window, great view, nice clean hot tub and very quiet. We also liked the wide deck like walkway in front of the room, it was like having a balcony. We hate being sealed up in the new sterile box like hotel rooms, so this retro motel was a delight. Our mattresses could have had a little more fluff and we had one burned out light bulb, but because the price was reasonable it was no big deal. The managers are a major plus for this hotel, they were superior. We will definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: The rooms are varied and different, the managers will work with you.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EEMDallasTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Sun God has a good location, nicely sized rooms, and reasonable prices. However, there is too much deferred maintenance, sloppy housekeeping and problematic staff to be assured of a satisfactory stay.

After two recent stays where both reservations were mishandled, unemptied wastebaskets, burned out light bulbs, a lumpy bed and a truly incompetent front desk person, I can suggest that Sun God should be a "last choice" for a stay in Taos.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicaogBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Sun God Lodge. The classic '50s motor inn vibe runs strong. Lots of cool southwest detail in our room which was comfortable, clean and cozy. The buildings and grounds continue the story with many SW design cues but not cluttered. The staff was endlessly helpful too with strong local knowledge and a great attitude. This will be our go-to place while visiting Taos.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was my first visit to Taos, New Mexico. I was very pleased with my accommodations at the Sun God Lodge. This is an older motel or lodge built, I believe, in 1958. It had the feel of days gone by yet provided everything we needed to be comfortable and happy. The managers, Gasper and Cindy Miera, were very helpful, polite, and welcoming. The place gave us the feel of a lodge, the views were nice, and the smell of the outdoors surrounded us. The location is convenient, it is easy to locate, and it is clean and fairly priced. Visit Taos. You'll never forget it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We rolled into Taos on motorcycles after an extremely long hot day of riding, someone at a local restaurant referred us to Gasper and Cindy at Sun God Lodge, what a huge blessing!!! We were treated with such respect and kindness, it was difficult to leave the next day, we so wanted to stay another night, but the road was calling for us. What friendly staff, wonderful freebies in the lobby for munching on, free coffee and wonderful cucumber lemon ice water, many amenities I hadn't seen at other motels/hotels, they even referred us to a wonderful little local restaurant for some authentic southwestern breakfast the morning we left. I will definitely be returning to the Sun God Lodge, Gasper and Cindy were phenomenal hosts!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Peace - Kendra (Minnesota)

Room Tip: We were in the back, upper level, nice quiet deck, near the hot tub, exceptional quality room!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
381 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $72 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing