We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel. Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed at this hotel on May 31, 2008. We used one of the coupon found in roomsaver and got a room for $58 including taxes. The room was very clean, nicely furnished and quiet in front of a small garden. The bed was great.

We had a great welcome from the woman at the front desk who spent some time recommending some places for dinner and for a drink in Taos.

In short we strongly recommend this hotel. It is a great and affordable place to stay in Taos.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lordjim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    91
    66
    55
    52
See reviews for
66
128
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2008

We booked our stay rather last minute, but had good confidence from the front desk person we talked to that we would be well taken care of. We have a dog and requested a dog room as we found this hotel on pet friendly site. When we arrived the woman at the front desk was very short in her communications and not professional at all. We knew it was a holiday weekend and rooms were hard to find, but did have a reservation. We asked for a non-smoking, and she stated that was fine as they had very few smoking rooms. Ha! We got into our room and it was horrible, stale smoke and completely thread bare for $150 a night! We asked for another room and they had none and issued no apologies for lying to us or for the lousy room. The bed was also extremely uncomfortable. Very disappointed and would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLuxury55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyintaos, manager at Sun God Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2008
The staff and I, here at the Sun God, are very sorry that you are upset. It is a very busy time of year for us but that is no excuse for anyone being short with you. I have looked up your records and you were not charged that much. We are pet friendly and have a few rooms that your pet can stay with you. We can not do anything about people smoking in a room other than charge their credit card for it. At the same time we can not allow pets in rooms that are not pet rooms. Pets can make some people very sick. Again, I am very sorry and I hope you will forgive us and give us another chance. Sincerely, Judy Hurn, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taos hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

This hotel was recommended by a local and it is really a great value. Our room is clean and quiet. The grounds are nice and much more pleasant than using a hotel. The lady at the front desk was very polite.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

We had a family reunion and looked for a place that was affordable and would add some memorable experiences to our stay.
We found it here....rooms were clean....plenty of room outside...great grassy area....plenty of shade. Unfortunately....no pool....but great hub tub area.
With family and everyone having their own idea of what kind of place they wanted to stay....believe it or not....most family members agreed the place a was a great place to stay.
The front desk was helpful....we were able to reserve plenty of rooms right at the start of a busy summer schedule for Taos...and perhaps one of the busiest weekends of the year....Memorial Day weekend.
Everything worked out fine.....have stayed there several other times and we enjoy the stay.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank ElJefedeDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

We saw this listed in Fodor's and just needed a place to sleep and shower. We had stopped by the Taos Tourist center and they didn't mention this place, but we drove down the main road and stopped in. The woman at the front was friendly and let us see a room. We were in room 143 (I think) in the back part of property. It was quiet and clean. Plus, we got a 10% discount for being AAA members (AARP gets this discount, too.). At $66 for a single night, it was a good deal and I would stay there again.

In general, I'd recommend if you're in Taos and looking for last-minute lodging and are in early, just drive down the main road and see what appeals. The tourist center can definitely help, but they may not work with all hotels/ motels, for whatever reasons, and some, like the Sun God Lodge, may be just fine for your needs.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

I stayed here once and it was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. The room was dirty and the bed linens hadn't been changed. There was trash in the waste paper basket. When I complained to the front desk the manager at the time was very rude but put us in another room. The next room was also dirty. We complained again and again the man was very rude. There were all kinds of problems with this hotel. We asked for our money back and he didn't want to give it back. The curtains were hanging off the windows and things were shabby. it looks nice from the road but its a whole othe rstory hwen you get inside a room. Unless the management has changed, don't stay here.

Stayed July 2003
Helpful?
2 Thank Paniola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

We visit Taos several times a year and this is where we stay. Prices are very reasonable, grounds are nice--large lawn with shade trees, staff are friendly and they allow dogs. We book the rooms in the 2 story newer buildings. Clean, comfortable, southwest decor, small but nice. However, the older rooms in the one-story buildings are rather dark. Make sure to request a room in the two-story building right across from the office. Best bet.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank 2-Traveling-Dames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
0.7 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Property: Sun God Lodge
Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing