We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
El Pueblo Lodge(Taos)(Great Value!)
$150
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Taos Inn(Taos)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$131
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
75
92
67
58
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
92
67
58
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred riversanta fekitchenettegroundsnm
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 357 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The Sun God Lodge was my fourth motel on during a recent motorcycle trip. By using Trip Advisor, I can usually find a nice motel with a decent rate wherever I travel.

The Sun God Lodge was another hit. The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The room was clean and had nice furnishings. The bathroom was nice and clean although you could tell it has been around a while.

My only problem was that the internet worked for only the first hour I was there. After that, I could get a fair WiFi signal but no internet access. This happen at two of the four motels I stayed at on this trip. I called the front desk to report this but had to leave a message on their answering machine. Motels need to train their staff better that verifying the WiFi signal is only half of the verification process.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darnit78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Sun God is a great place to stay if you're in Taos for a night or two. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We stayed there the first night of our 2-week road trip through New Mexico and Colorado (we also stayed at some really swanky hotels --- the LImelight in Aspen and La Fonda in Santa Fe) and returned for one of our last nights because we had such a pleasant experience the first time through. The price of our room was quite reasonable ($59 for a queen), and the front desk even knocked $10 off when we returned since we were repeat visitors. This is a great budget place to stay!.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place. It was very quiet. We were in the back in a room upstairs. The air conditioning didn't work but we were only staying one night so we didn't report it. This is convenient and right across the street from Walmart and a great coffee shop.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Interesting, quirky motel. The room was interesting, decent but not great, but with a definite southwest look. No breakfast, though they did offer free apricots in the office. Or was it peaches, but whatever, off their tree. Not new, but reasonably well kept and not too expensive for the location. Big wide open, almost park-like grounds that were very pet friendly, although it made me a little nervous as lots of the pet owners weren't cleaning up after their animals and some people were using like a picnic grounds. Internet worked but not great. I would return if I find myself in Taos again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked thru Hotwire therefore, there are no refunds. Nevertheless, we left after 15 minutes and lost our money, but it was so filthy dirty we could not stay. This room hadn't been thoroughly cleaned in over a year. There was an electrical heating unit running around the perimeter of the room that was covered in dirt. Behind the beds it was also caked with dirt, hair and God knows what else. The carpets were dirty, stains and things had been spilled (milk?) and there was a crust on the carpet between the beds. Both comforters were faded and had holes, and were also dirty. We booked a non smoking room, and had to sign something saying we'd be charged $250.00 if there was any smoking in the room. Yet both blankets, really old and faded, had multiple cigarette burns on them. Mattress springs worn out. The sheets & towels, however, we're clean. I can understand the owners are having financial problems and cannot afford to replace things, but there is no excuse for a dirty room. We paid $78.69 on Hotwire for a room that should rent for $40.00. We left and went to Comfort Suites -- spotlessly clean, a king & queen & sofa, table and kitchenette for $ 79.00. Do not even think about staying at this seedy motel.

Room Tip: Tip: choose a room at a different place
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mermaid_22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews