We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming when facing the lawn”
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We asked for the quietest room they had that still faced the lawn (we didn't want to pay for a kitchenette we would not use) and really liked the charm of the upstairs room on the end. Overall, the hotel looked well kept, room was superclean, and the lawn service kept flowers and lawn looking great. We had a noisy neighbor knocking on their next door room door, which was an interruption in a great night's rest, so it would depend on who's next to you. I liked staying at this local place and do recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room upstairs if you can do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jahanavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 354 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here while taking a tour of northern New Mexico during the changing of the fall leaves. We chose this motel because it appeared to be among the nicest in the area and the prices were reasonable. However, upon arriving in Taos, we decided to have dinner first, so I called the motel and discovered they only had booked one room for us even though we had a confirmation for two rooms. Fortunately, there were other rooms still available, but had this happened the previous weekend, we would have been out of luck. Upon arriving at the motel and checking in, the first room had a broken deadbolt, so we were moved into another room, which was much larger than the first with two queen beds instead of one king. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. The lighting is all compact flourescent bulbs and is not bright enough, especially above the vanity area. The biggest problem, however, was that our room was on the second floor of one of the back buildings, and getting our bags up the narrow stairs was a challenge. There was no offer to help us with them, so we had to do it ourselves. Also, the room had Wi-Fi, but we could never get it to work well.....it continually dropped the signal, so we finally just gave up on that. Next time we come through Taos, we will consider staying here again, but will request a downstairs room.

Room Tip: Insist on a ground floor room. The stairs to the upper rooms in the back units are difficult to neg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We chose the Sun God because it accepts dogs and the pictures and reviews looked good. When we arrived the room had ridges in the carpet like there had been water damage and it was stained everywhere. Walls and bedspread were dirty, too. There was a strange smell in the room, like a very strong chemical. It immediately began to give me a headache and nausea. Even the airconditioning could not eradicate the odor. The redeeming factor was that the people at the front desk were willing to be accommodating and offered to move us to another room, although they basically said the room was in that kind of shape because it WAS a dog room. It seemed for the pet fee shoud mean the room is clean before the next person stays there. The only other room available on this holiday weekend that was a dog friendly room did look better, but unfortunately it did not have air conditioning and was much smaller- not really room to put my dog's kennel, so we declined it. There were no other reasonably priced dog accepting rooms anywhere in town, so we had to stick it out for the night. They were kind enough to let us out of the second night of our reservation without charging us a cancellation fee. Perhaps the non-pet rooms are better, but it took me the rest of the weekend to get over the headache.

Room Tip: Look at the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnebernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

First off let me say Cindy the manager is the BEST! She was nice, accomadating and very helpful during our stay. She even took my husband and I on a tour of her own personal rental just to show us her decor! The rooms are quaint. They are not high end rooms, but for the value you can't beat it. They are very clean, everything worked and I especially enjoyed the courtyard. It was so refreshing to sit outside, have a cold beverage and talk with other fellow travelers in the hotel.The staff were very friendly, quick to clean room and refresh pillows. They even gave us suggestions on where to eat , and let me tell you they were spot on with thier suggestions!! I will be returning to this adorable hotel next visit to Taos!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyE451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It may be towards the south end of town, but for the price, I don't think you can beat it. This place was built around 1950 and since new ownership has seen improvements. There's no continental breakfast, but the Taosueno is just down the street- excellent breakfast burrito- it will keep you filled up for a hike. The bed was comfortable, I liked the styling of the place and the way it's set up. Very quiet and peaceful. The room was clean, and the smaller rooms were adequate for 1 or 2 travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a cool place, and so very affordable for Taos. There is a bit of road noise, and being on the ground floor...someone above me who has no clue they sound like an elephant walking. The vending machines were sold out of all my choices ... but Walmart across the street fixed that. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappySoloCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

At last minute we made a reservation for Sun God Lodge. We did choose the cheapest room, but it was ok. Big surprise was the green grass in front of the room with different places to seat. Enough place to park and rather quiet. Incheck staff (man) was not very friendly and did gave hardly any information, out check staf (female) was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryde17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $73 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing