We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Taos
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a cool place, and so very affordable for Taos. There is a bit of road noise, and being on the ground floor...someone above me who has no clue they sound like an elephant walking. The vending machines were sold out of all my choices ... but Walmart across the street fixed that. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySoloCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    89
    61
    50
    44
See reviews for
63
119
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

At last minute we made a reservation for Sun God Lodge. We did choose the cheapest room, but it was ok. Big surprise was the green grass in front of the room with different places to seat. Enough place to park and rather quiet. Incheck staff (man) was not very friendly and did gave hardly any information, out check staf (female) was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryde17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Level Contributor
637 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is an older hotel but it is kept up extremely well. The rooms are decorated nicely with a southwestern motif. Everything is clean. We got a good night's sleep here.

They have no pool but they do have a spa...which is extremely small (but the water is kept sparkling clean!)

They say they allow pets, but, I guess they really don't want them...they charge $20 for a pet...which I find extremely high.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front half surround a beautiful green lawn...but are close to traffic noise. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here over Labor day weekend! The hotel had sufficient parking, it was simple, comfortable and enough for what we needed that weekend. The room was small, but like I said it had everything we needed. I liked the unique New Mexican decor, there was plenty of lighting in the room, it was clean, reasonable prices and also very quiet. We will definitely be coming back here to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miriana07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I needed a last minute place to stay in Taos on a recent trip and found the Sun God Lodge. It turned out to be a nice surprise. The grounds are quite lovely and the front desk staff was very helpful and super friendly. It is not the most convenient location but for the price it is really hard to beat. My room was fine but the coffee pot was a little nasty. I would suggest staying in the back of the hotel. I have recommended this motel to friends and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed at the Sun God Lodge off and on for a decade. Indeed, the decline seems over and this is a solid 3 star spot to spend a night or 3 in Taos. Parking is safe, free, and close, yet the parking lot does not overwhelm the view. There are 3 room areas, the main motel (2 queens, a bit old, but clean, quiet and simple with opening windows); the two story "south annex", and the two story annexes at the rear (east) side (most modern). I tend to the simple main motel as it is a good bang for the buck. Several eating places are near enough, and the Walmart (Chinese Embassy) across the street is useful for forgotten items or to stock up for a foray into the Mountains.

The desk folk are helpful, sincere, and courteous. Motorcycle friendly.

If you want an elegant experience this is not your place, but you can "cook out" on a BBQ of your own in the courtyard and mingle with other guests enjoying the outdoors at sunset, an "amenity" not found in the fancy spots in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are away from highway noise. South rooms have nice mountain view to the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was small, the ice machine and hot tube were broke, and the beds were not very comfortable. We pulled into town kind of late and the rooms looked good on the internet so we stopped in. The free wifi was ok at best and the parking lot was kind of dark. Dogs are allowed, but that is a plus or a minus depending on if you travel with pets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taos hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 17 in Taos
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.7 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#15 of 17 in Taos
3.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Property: Sun God Lodge
Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing