We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like funky authentic old Taos with loads of art, real fireplaces & great price...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed December 2, 2010

For the price, we found this hotel to be a pleasant surprise. Our room in the newer section was huge and quiet. The fireplace was lovely on those cold evenings and the wifi and cable tv worked perfectly. I found the "junky" backyard view just fine--empty spaces and mountains in the distance is very Taos. The bar was very old and charming. As everyone was putting up the holiday decorations, it seemed very family like and warm. It only dawned on us after a couple of days that the whole place is crammed with original Taos art and carvings. Be sure to grab the walking tour description of everything from the information table in the breakfast dining room and look carefully at it all. Free breakfast was well prepared (no Hampton Inn crap). If you want chain uniformity, this isn't the place, but if you want authenticity, charm, and a real taste of Taos, for a great price, this is it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deering_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
There are newer reviews for Sagebrush Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

Even though the rooms were old and shabby, the grounds were nice and so was the restaurant. Unfortunately, if you stay on the ground floor, you will not sleep. The ceiling are paperboard thin. We could hear every footstep and word that was said above us. Unfortunately, our neighbors came in late, after we had gone to bed, had a long cell phone conversation with much walking back and forth, unpacking. They were up early so woke us up. We felt like we'd been up all night. I talked to the front desk. They were very nice but couldn't help us out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mljack99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Having just returned from spending a week in Taos, and basing at The Sagebrush Inn, I must say we were delighted to find a hotel that is unique, historical, and quite wonderful. It is practically a museum featuring hundreds of works of art on walls from the dining room, to the lobby, the bar, and the breakfast room. There is even a guide to the art around the hotel if you request it. While you could go and come without exploring the art, you really should because it tells a story of the early days in Taos when it was first discovered as an art mecca of sorts. The daily free breakfast could not be beat. The entire staff was courteous and helpful in every way possible. While the hotel has several types of rooms, the older more historic rooms are a bit small and quaint, while the newer rooms are quite spacious and totally comfortable. The view out of the back rooms is not picturesque for sure, but it is not a trash dump the way some reviewers have described it. Rather than taking the close view, look over the fields out across the sagebrush to the beautiful mountains on the horizon. If you go expecting a Holiday Inn Express or something of that ilk, you will not find it here. The Sagebrush Inn offers a glimpse of the past, and a visual feast for those that take the time to really understand the role this hotel has played in American art history and as a gathering place for the people who love and respect the Taos of the past. It is only two miles to the " Taos boardwalk" of downtown where you can find everything from fine art to trinkets from China and beyond. Stay here and you won't be disappointed if you give it half a chance to charm your socks off. We loved it. Bubbs and Beebs, Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BUBandBEEBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

There may be some descent rooms here, but I didn't get one! Foul smelling room with barely functional A/C , broken door and windows that would not open......Avoid this place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n8trboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

This was my second visit. The hotel is wonderful, quite, charming southwest rooms,beautiful grounds, fantastic breakfast, and all at a great price! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This is a charming hotel. The lobby and bar are terrific! The rooms are cozy but noisy if you are on the first floor, as the upper floors squeak. Get a room on the second floor if at all possible. The location is not the best and a bit far from the "action" of Taos! All in all, however, it is a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DigsGreatHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My wife and I were here for a writer's conference. Our room is in one of the newer wings -- quite large and nicely appointed. The included breakfast is quite good (by US "free breakfast included" standards), and the cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was quite comfortable, although they don't seem to clean it or the surrounding pool deck very often. I was also surprised at the many tears and obvious wear in the pool deck, which to me indicates a lack of attention to detail. We had appetizers in the restaurant. If you go there, try the smoked trout. The entrees were the usual suspects that you see on many southwestern menus. It was almost empty on a Saturday night even though the hotel was full. At check-in I found the clerk to be officious rather than friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkerouac110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
381 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $116 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing