We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service Hotel-Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Shell Knob, MO
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service Hotel-Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Take a trip back in time in a hotel with lodge pole beams and kivis in the room. Romance abounding with beautiful gardens, pool, dining room, breakfast room and bar. Hotel staff very helpful and accommodating. Ask for room #150 and you will have your own private courtyard and complete privacy. If you want newer rooms ask for the newer part of the hotel. We preferred the quaintness of the older part of the hotel. Food is prepared by a wonderful chef. Romance package $100.00 a night that includes dinner, and breakfast and a bottle of wine. $59.00 a night for a double room and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLover060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    343
    176
    115
    64
See reviews for
291
397
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2009

this is a good hotel it is made like the old adobe clay and is a big hotel.on saturday night go to the bar and watch the dances and southwest bands play it is amazing. Has a nice hot tub and pool. and if you want a good mexican meal go to tequila's. also if your kids want to see a prairi dog go to the comfort inn sign and wait a few min. and they will come out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdnewman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I was at this hotel the same night as 2 very nice people I met earlier in my trip at Bandelier so got to compare 2 rooms.... Very weird - I was a woman traveling alone and had a palatial room; they were a couple and were in a not so palatial room in the less desireable part of the hotel.... Normally, the opposite is the case....

Arrived with the worst migraine (driving? the arsenic pool at Ojo Caliente? late blooming swine flu?) to a very nice woman who wanted to give me $2 off a margarita! All I wanted was to be sure I had a room away from noisy humming things like the HVAC unit or generator. She gave me a map, told me where to park - and assured me the room was in a separate area from the main hotel, and that I would love it. It wasnt until I recovered hours later and started to read the hotel history that I discovered that Geogia O'Keeffe stayed and painted in room 301 - and I was in 201....

Room 201 was great. My only real problem with hotels is if they have a loud AC unit. This one did, but I also had a bunch of windows that could be opened without forfeiting my security. Security in Taos, probably not an issue, but still....I have some valuable photo equipment. There was no room safe, but there was a little refrigerator, TV, table and chairs, large bathroom (I later discovered that I could hear every word of the lucky people in room 301 when they were in the bathroom, but otherwise it was completely quiet.

My friends from Bandelier were in 1 of the rooms in the central courtyard. I dont want to pre-empt any review they might write, but they had a lot of trouble regulating the water in their shower. And, their room was 1/2 the size of mine (I didnt tell them that!).

Meanwhile, we met for drinks and ate at the hotel - and both were good! I had a list of restaurants, but thanks to the migraine only had 1 dinner in Taos and it was at the Sagebrush. Great margaritas - it was really hard to choose between all the premium tequilas! And, the free buffet of salsa, chips and homemade potato chips was perfect for someone who barely had a appetite to eat lunch. Also, the breakfast is made to order and a choice of eggs, pancakes, etc, not a buffet.

This was the only hotel of my trip that was out in the open - if the weather wasnt so bad I could have seen stars and the sunset.... The pool wasnt open yet, but it would have been great if they had some lounge chairs to read on.

The people at the front desk were great! After sitting for an hour in downtown Taos traffic (I've never seen anything like it - and I live in NYC!) I made sure to ask for routes to bypass town - and got excellent advice from the people at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2009

I had high hopes after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor...rarely have they let me down, except this time. While I was lead to believe I was getting a special room rate, I found the opposite to be true while I stood in line to check out. A couple ahead of me had a rate that was $25 less than mine for a similar room. Of course, if the room had been clean, the heat working and the bathroom spotless, I would not have minded as much. The beds were terribly uncomfortable and the heat ran all night long, completely ineffectively. The free breakfast was adequate and the service in the restaurant was the highlight of our stay. There are many choices in Taos and I suggest choosing another place to hang your hat.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denvergirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

My boyfriend was attending a Keystone Symposia conference held at the Sagebrush Inn in Taos, so I decided to go along for the trip. The whole experience was wonderful.

The desk staff were accomodating (we had a bit of a mixup with our room initially), the bar staff very friendly, and the owner/executive chef was extremely friendly and the food was delicious! We stayed in a Deluxe Suite which was a huge room with king bed, murphy bed, two couches, woodburning fireplace, and patio. All the furniture was handmade carved wood. The room was large but felt quaint and cozy, especially with the fire burning. The rest of the hotel was filled with art, history, and overall the experience felt very authentic.

The location of the hotel was on the outskirts of Taos, so not exactly central to the main town however, the local bus runs by the hotel every 30 minutes and you can get to the Taos Plaza in less than 15 minutes for $1 round trip! Across the street from the hotel was the Taos Spa, a fitness facility offering some spa treatments. I purchased a 50 min massage for $65 and since I was staying at the Sagebrush, received a 5 day pass to the facility! If you walk 15 minutes down the road (or again, you can take the bus), you can find the San Franciso de Asis church which is apparently the most photographed/painted church in New Mexico. Worth the visit!

While in Taos, make sure to go to Taos Ski Valley (about a 40 minute drive around the other side of the mountain). There is a shuttle bus that leaves from the hotel several times a day and a roundtrip costs $1! The skiing and views were amazing. I wouldn't necessarily recommend Taos Ski Valley for beginnners, as the hills are pretty challenging.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MAntoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2008

This hotel is neat if you like historic, rustic properties with history. The front part is older, with lots of nook and cranny rooms, some upstairs, some down, with an old NM feel. These rooms are darker but my room was big with two rooms. The back has a two story newer addition that will fit the bill for people who want an updated feel. These rooms are also big, with a patio or balcony. We go here every couple years for a conference and the chef makes great food for our meals You have to still drive a few minutes into town, but there is a great dirt road right next to the hotel to go running / walking which feels very country-like. The old bar definitely has history to it and feels "rustico."

  • Liked — on a large property with lots of room to wander around and look at the rambling buildings
  • Disliked — still have to drive a few minutes into Taos for shopping, etc.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sccarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2008

I have stayed at the Historic Sagebrush for over thirty years. Unlike the many cookie cutter hotels, this one offers very traditional southwest adobe architecture, full of paintings, sculpture and the food is excellent. If I wanted updating, I would go to a motel six.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing