We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Taos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Quintessential Taos”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

When we decided to visit Taos this was the feel we had in mind and the old west charm of this hotel didn't disappoint. It was very rustic but the rooms were clean and the grounds were fairly well maintained as were the common areas. There is some historical significance to this hotel as well ,which was interesting, I was also interested to learn that Georgia O'Keeffe painted here for 6 months using one of the upstairs rooms as a room/studio. We were not overly enthusiastic with a first floor unit that we were assigned upon our arrival and were quickly moved to a more acceptable room. The included breakfast was very good and our evening meal was delicious. That being said, the Inn could use some TLC and there were no elevators which made it difficult to carry luggage to the second floor but all in all it was a wonderful experience. I rated it a very good as opposed to average only because I was considering the area and the old time charm of the accommodations. A more discerning guest may view it differently.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaflincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for such and honest review. I agree with you that some TLC needs to be done to the property. You'll be happy to know we plan on doing just that in November. Please come back and see us as I am sure you'll be pleased with our renovations.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    343
    176
    115
    64
See reviews for
291
397
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Comfortable, clean and spacious in the Executive Section. Friendly staff. Only problem is only ice machine is in the main hotel section. Wi-fi isn't that strong, Free breakfast and dogs welcome. Only thing was the pool wasn't available this time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMFireHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
I am so sorry you weren't made aware that there are 2 pools on property. Also, we have done an extensive upgrade on our wireless internet and plan an equally extensive renovation on the hotel rooms in November. I invite you to come back and see the changes on your next Taos visit!

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in one of the courtyard rooms second floor. Very cute, unique hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The balconies for the courtyard rooms are ideal for relaxing after dinner. Rooms are spacious and clean; although the beds are a bit hard for my taste and the bathroom could use updating. There are several outdoor areas (2 patios with tables and chairs, 2 green spaces with chairs) that are perfect for relaxing after a long day. Nice bar area, though I would stick with beer or wine. Didn't try the dinner, but breakfast is rather tasty! It is an older hotel, so don't expect up to date fixtures and amenities, but if you are the type to look for personality in a hotel, this is a great place to stay!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and may I say, the Sagebrush Inn definitely has personality! We are in the preliminary process of renovating our rooms this year and outdoor spaces in the Spring. Come back and see us on your next visit to Taos.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

What a great place to stay !!! Rustic but all the comforts of home. Comfortable beds, and a microwave and fridge in our room. Even a fireplace for the winter. Fabulous made to order breakfast included. Best part, there was nightclub on premises that had great entertainment. Good drinks, dancing, and then just walk to your room. I noticed there was a very nice hot tub, and 2 swimming pools.
But it was all about the view out back, and sharing a weekend with great friends. Lots of gorgeous shade trees, would be fabulous for family reunion. Noticed there was a separate restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Love Taos!!!

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgrammer2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you so much for such a nice review, I am pleased you experienced quintessential Taos and that Sagebrush was part of that experience. Please come back soon!

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Sagebrush is so New Mexican - exactly what I was hoping to find. There is a sense of history, culture, art inside the adobe walls and open, grassy courtyards. It was a brief stay in a simple basic run-of-hotel room but it more than fulfilled my expectations. Front desk and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast that was included with our room and also ate in the hotel restaurant the first night we arrived. Excellent prime rib followed by live music in the bar.

Room Tip: 2nd floor on the courtyard had windows on both sides for a lovely breeze and a private balcony that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
And we look forward to you future stays! Please note that we will be under going a substantial room renovation in November so stop by and say hello and give me your opinion on your next stay.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We picked Sagebrush because it was pet friendly and had old west charm. As you would at any hotel, notify them if you're bringing a pet as not all rooms are pet friendly - there is a nominal fee for each pet. The rooms are cozy with lodge pole ceilings and carved wood furnishings. Yes, internet is very slow (hope they can upgrade that) but Taos isn't the place to keep your nose in the screen - enjoy the ambiance! Not all rooms have a fireplace, so if you want a room with one, be sure to call the Sagebrush directly for special requests. Georgia O'Keeffe stayed in room 300, the only 3rd floor room (there aren't elevators) and painted there when she visited. You can request room 300 if it's available - it costs a little more and is pet friendly. I would agree with one of the other reviews that the rooms could use a bit of spiffing up - not updating, but using tile instead of carpet in the rooms. The bar opens in the afternoon and served chips and super salsa - the hotel information folder in the room had mentioned food was available too, but that information was outdated. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant and would definitely stop there again, even if not staying at the hotel. Our steaks were grilled perfectly - came with sides and salad bar. The made-to-order breakfast is wonderful - included with the room fee, with several options to choose from. The service is superb and commands a generous tip (hey, they don't charge for the meal - so you can afford to show your appreciation for the great service.) Perhaps you're wondering why I've rated the Sagebrush as excellent instead of lower, because there is room for improvement. I didn't say it was perfect, but our experience was.

Room Tip: Be sure to call to confirm your reservations and to specify preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurelNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Our sincerest thanks for such an awesome review. I sincerely thank you for recognizing what a unique property the Sagebrush Inn truly is.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The Sagebrush Inn is located on El Paseo del Pueblo Sur (SR 68), approximately 3 miles southwest of the Plaza. The inn was built in the 1920s, and it has retained the Southwest Pueblo Charm with authentic décor and furnishings. There are 100 units on the property 1-2 stories, with exterior corridors. The inn has no elevators. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean; but they are a bit dark. It is quiet, and the staff is very courteous and friendly. The rooms are easily accessible from all parking areas.

The room rates are very reasonable and a cook-to-order breakfast in included in the price of the room. It is a full breakfast nicely prepared and served by a friendly and accommodating staff. It is a great value. There is a bar in the main building.

The inn can use some upgrading; but it is still a comfortable and charming place in its present condition. If you are looking for southwestern hospitality, charm and great value, look no further.

Room Tip: All rooms look into the exterior corridor and they are quiet. Please keep in mind that there are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMasumoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! You'll be pleased to know we're starting a remodel this November and welcome you back to see the wonderful things we have in store!

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing