We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Proprietors. Sadly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Was disappointed to learn that change made some systems not coordinate. Previously we had been able to find another guest or have a room connected. Desk seemed unwilling or unable to accommodate. No longer affiliated with a chain and signage is NOT clear. Keep trying!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delftglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

I am certainly distressed that you experienced less than a great place to stay. Please know that we are in the beginning phases of a major upgrade here at the Sagebrush Inn and invite you to come back in the future to see what we've done with this exceptional Hotel! Thank you again for taking the time to write a review!

Respectfully,

Mark Najera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel was not a good place to stay. The facility looked as though built in the 1930's and not updated much. Their picture on the internet showed a much newer facility on the property.
The air condition unit was beat up and roared so much that I could not hear the TV on in higher volume settings and kept us awake. Also, the ceiling had log rafters and the ceiling was the wooden floor of the room above. The people above us came in and walked around all night and of course it came right through to our room and kept us awake all night. No sleep all night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimwaterArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for your review as we welcome both good and bad reviews. I am certainly saddened to hear that your stay was not a good one and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. I welcome you to give us another try if you come back to Taos as we are in the beginning stages of an upgrade here and I am confident your next stay will meet your expectations. We do hope to see you again!

Respectfully,

Mark Najera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Rooms are nice and jacuzzi was awesome.Breakfast excellent. We live close by but felt like a couple getaway and could not ask for anything more pleasant then my stay here at Sagebrush.

Room Tip: Courtyard is pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Jennifer2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and writing such an awesome review! On behalf of my staff, we thank you and welcome you back to see even more positive changes the Sagebrush Inn is about to go through. Thank you for recognizing the charm the Sagebrush offers all our guests.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We've been staying at Sagebrush Inn on and off for 20 years...whenever we get to Taos. It's the same as ever this year....and hope it never changes. Rooms are cozy and comfortable...and they're VERY dog friendly. We wanted a quiet dinner...and decided to stay in....wife had the best prime rib I've ever seen....and my steak was over the top....absolutely superb! Not pricy....not crowded...and breakfast (the full thing) was included in the room rate. Would I do it again...or would I try someplace else? It's a no brainer....we'll return time and again...it was just plain relaxing....only the next time we'll stay for more than one night!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the older ones...with the super fireplaces...and ROOMY!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Jack B,
It means so much when you share your experience at the Sagebrush Inn to others looking to come to the Taos area. We are looking forward to some updates this year to keep your experience a great one for your future visits. As a frequent visitor please let us know if you have any suggestions that could have improved your stay.

Thank you for your loyalty to the Sagebrush
Debra.Stout@prismhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had an Assessor's affiliate meeting in Taos last week. The Assessor from Taos set up three motels we were able to rent close to our meetings. I chose the Sagebrush because I was told that this facility was a nice place to stay. Unfortunately our room was a dump!!! The room was very outdated and musty smelling. The bed was old and my wife's back hurt the next day after sleeping on the old bed. The Assessor from Taos deserves an apology from the motel for allowing here guests to be insulted with such a poor facility. I checked out the following morning and rented a room at a nearby motel for the same price. I will never advise anyone to stay at this facility when we have meetings in Taos. I guess I should have requested my money back after I saw the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Paul B,
I'm very sorry your experience at the Sagebrush Inn was not a pleasant one. We have recently had an ownership change and will be updating the rooms this year including new mattresses. We certainly do not want you to pay for such an unpleasant experience and if you would like to contact me with your room information we will be happy to compensate you. I hope you will consider stopping in next year if you are in the area and see the improvements.

Sincerely,
Debra.Stout@Prismhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay while in Taos. Our room was very rustic, said to be built in the early 1900's with a little fireplace. It made our night very relaxing. The staff was very friendly and eager to make sure your stay was grand. It is not downtown, but I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Michael Q,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Sagebrush Inn. We are a piece of Taos History and hope to share the uniqueness of our property with guests such as yourself. If there was anything we could have done to improve your stay please let me know.

Sincerely,
Debra.stout@prismhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

For our day trip to Taos, we decided to stay @ Sagebrush Inn with our pet this mid-April. We stayed in the older section in one of the Fireplace Rooms. What I enjoyed about the hotel is the old charm of the hotel, the hot breakfast in the morning, and the ample space to walk our pet. Our room was a dated but charming room. This room was more like rooms we stayed in when we traveled in Europe. There weren't many people here but when we were at Taos, there wasn't many people in the town anyways and the ski season was already over. So if you are looking for a pristine hotel, this isn't the hotel for you. If you are looking for a hotel with character, give Sagebrush a try.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilbert9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Gilbert,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sagebrush Inn. We find Trip advisor a wonderful tool for travelers to learn about our hotel. We are looking forward to many updates this year and hope you will be able to visit us again this fall . Our goal is for all guests to be able to give us "excellents" on our scores. If you have any suggestions that could have improved your stay please let us know.

Sincerely,
Debra.Stout@prismhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
3 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,221 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
666 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $93 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing