We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long on Character...Short on Warmth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Southrn California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Long on Character...Short on Warmth”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Booked in here by my client, I was enchanted with the history and character of this lodging. It is, indeed, an old property - but that is a good deal of its charm. Many of the wings are built around a central charming courtyard, with grass and mature trees. The staff was pleasant. The evening live music has been put "on hold" until the "new owners/management?" can get it going again, I was told by the staff. Breakfast, was basic, but cooked to order - no complaints as it was complimentary.

I would gladly stay here again at a different time of the year, but never again in winter. There was no thermostat on the wall heater, and with nominal insulation, the room was a see-saw of too-hot-to-frigid during my three night stay. Other than that, a delightful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyTheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear JudyTheGypsy,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. You will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we have implemented changes to renovate our rooms so our guest will be comfortable no matter what time of year they arrive. We hope you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    320
    163
    101
    60
See reviews for
272
366
45
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Visit Taos every few months and make a point of eating at Los Vaqueros restaurant. The food is always good and the atmosphere welcoming and charming. Was disappointed this time, the food was okay but the service was terrible. The host was very cold to us, never acknowledged us after he sat us and the server sat by the salad bar looking at her phone the whole time we were there. The restaurant was very cold and we could not wait to get out of there. I understand that there are new owners but it does not look like there are any improvements at all. I hate to say that this will probably be my last visit to this restaurant unless there are some drastic improvements.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear John E,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you have been regular guests but I am also very disappointed to hear of the unfortunate events that occurred the night of your visit. Our hotel is going through a great transition and has been hard for everyone dealing with the new changes. It is not ok that you were treated this way and our staff will be reprimanded appropriately. We do hope that you will give us another chance to make this right for you. We hope to see you again.

Our sincerest apologies,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our family just stayed at this very nice hotel in Taos last December. We enjoyed everything about it. Good service, the room we had was nice and ample (we reserved one of their suites, since we're a family of five) and the breakfast. Wonderful breakfast, -included in the room fee and accompanied by outstanding service from all the staff. In summary, great stay and very recommendable hotel! Only drawback might be that the Hotel is outside of the historic downtown and you have to drive back and forth form all the attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robtoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear robtoledo,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Taos!

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Place was older but had some character. Rooms were ok but the breakfast was unhealthy and small. Time Machine band was excellent and no cover charge. The western swing dancing was fabulous on the dance floor and the fireplace was lovely. Nice place but way overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: stay closer to main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear robin639,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I'm sorry you felt that our hot complimentary breakfast was small and unhealthy but we do offer other items on our guest menu that you may find healthier (ex. hot/cold cereal, granola,fruit, and assorted juices). I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself in our cantina. I am also concerned that you were not happy with the price you paid. During different seasons in Taos our hotel has different pricing points. Depending on the time of year or our ski season we do offer many different rates and/or discounts. Please call our reservations line for more information.

Our regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel did not honor my credit card confirmed booking of a suite. Instead, they put us in a "regular" room that happens to be in a nearby motel. It is quite far from the plaza and has no shuttle to the center of town. I am sure some of the rooms are nicer than what we were put in but since they don't honor confirmed reservations, do you really want to chance it?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinguHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the unfortunate incident that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I will look into the issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel. Please bare with us, as we are going through a transition, and we are disappointed that your reservation was not found. We would like you to give us another chance and we are confident in saying that this unfortunate event will not happen again.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Whoa.
We came up for a nice Christmas break, and boy were we in for a surprise. Less than a week before the hotel had been SOLD, to the neighboring CHAIN no less.
All the old front desk help was gone. NO more honoring the returning guest w/ the customary discount ("we dont do that during the holidays sir" intoned the freshly minted front desk clerk).
Many of the old housekeepers quit on the spot, so we were given $10 off per night if we declined housekeeping asstance. When we cked out the discount was conspicuously absent, and frostily reinstated.
Apparently the new corporate culture is to hire younger more inexperienced staff. The vibe has definitely changed. We''ll see for how long.
I can see the explanations now "we were just going through a transition, bear w/ us".

I would recommend that the good will generated over the DECADES be EARNED by the new folks, This inauspicious beginning needs to be rectified with experienced touch, and feel, and a sense of history that was conspicuously absent, My vote is that the new crew work HARD for whatever favor they engender. Please be candid w/ how the place stands NOW.

Room Tip: In the winter you want to ck for how drafty your room is. If the heater is on all the time you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomoBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear MomoBobo,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the issue of your concern. Yes we are going through a great transition that has been a bit uncomfortable at certain points for our guests, but we are doing every thing we can to it do as quickly and easily as possible. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed. If you come back to our hotel (we certainly hope you do) I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best!

Kindest Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The INN as a whole has loads of character. Feels like you're going back in time. The cantina and dining area have loads of character, as well. The breakfast was great! Definitely not continental breakfast like at chain hotels. The room had a smell to it and lacked enough warm water for shower. The bathroom was also cold. The carpet was also dingy. The nicest thing about the room were the exposed beams. We stayed in a room without fireplace.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT7279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear JT7279,

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of your recent stay. It is only through feedback that we are able to maintain and improve (where necessary) the service that we provide our guests. I was disappointed to read of your stay experience. This level of service is certainly unacceptable and has been addressed with the concerned party. Please accept my apologies. I hope you consider staying with when you return.

Thank you,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,116 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing