We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time in the Southwest.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My niece and I have stayed in the Sagebrush Inn many times and each time is a unique experience. From the front desk to the cleaning staff, they are all so very helpful. You truly get a feel for the Southwest flavor and it is so true to Taos itself in keeping with tradition.

An extra bonus is the wonderful free breakfast for the guests. It is always very fresh and served by friendly wait staff.

We will definately be back. Thank you again for a wonderful stay,
Susan Hemme and Donna Nance

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having read a poor review before we left, I was nervous...turns out the poor review was based on a visit 4 years ago, so the reviewer must be pretty bored to be reviewing someplace he hadn't been to in 4 years! The place was being painted when we arrived so it was fresh and very nice. The staff was helpful and very friendly. Our room was so impressive. Huge room in the back left corner which was private, quiet, clean and a great room for the price. We had a sunset view, it was very quiet with nice amenities. Our complimentrary breakfast was generous and fresh. (Can all restaurants stop using parsely on the plates??? It adds nothing and is so useless!) I would stay again in a heartbeat because it was easy to find on the highway into Taos, great value, lovely room and so peaceful and quiet. Would love to stay longer to enjoy more of the location.

Room Tip: The very back building, top left...good sunset views, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Checked in without a reservation and was greeted by a most friendly helpful woman named Vicky. I was told that, because of a conference, I could only get a room for one night (I had asked for two). Vicky told me she would try to get me another night and to check with morning staff. She called me a few hours later and said I could stay for two nights. It is such a pleasure to have hotel staff do what they say they will do.

The room was unique ... decorated in Taos style (old adobe) and was perfectly clean. The TV had cable and the internet connection was hassle free.

The room had a and coffee maker (amply supplied with good coffee). The grounds were clean and the swimming pool was big enough to do laps. I'm sorry that I'm only here for two nights. I'll be back.

Room Tip: There is an older section with more 'authentic' old adobe rooms. Ask for one if you desire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobInAustinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel feels like a little retreat because of its historic architecture and scenery, but the biggest surprise was how excellent the food was! The breakfast dining room is absolutely beautiful and so is lunch on the terrace. There's a genuinely friendly atmosphere throughout the Inn, and the staff always seems willing to go out of their way to help you. The rooms are a little on the rustic side but they offer all the amenities, and the prices are a bargain. Special kudos to management for their good-faith resolution of a billing problem that was caused entirely by my own confusion. It was yet another reason that my one-week stay was so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaterSewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

What I love about the Sagebrush is that it bears absolutely no resemblance to any chain hotel, luxury or basic. It is simply the Sagebrush, Taos unique . Our double was large, two rooms, $89 including a basic hot breakfast (No rolls unless you order one) served to you at a table. The desk was friendly and helpful. It has a bar very popular with the locals, live music and a dance floor. It makes it hard to believe that we actually stayed at the Super 8 a few years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Visited Taos for the 1st time over Labor Day weekend - what a delightful surprise on our room!!! It was spacious, clean and the morning breakfast wonderful. Breakfast served on linens - no buffet & by extremely happy people and it was included with the room! Great to get away from the "downtown" area and made the visit a great memory!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrispy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

One of the Taos stales. The staff is always friendly, and the rooms are clean. This isn't four star luxery, but the rates match what a great value it really is. We've stayed at the Sagebrush several times, and will again. It's a family place. It's well worth a try on anyone's next trip to Taos.

Room Tip: This isn't in the downtown area. Expect a drive to shopping, but if quiet is what you want. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_steeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,238 reviews
3 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
676 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: $94 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing